Friday 15 December 2017

Charleville to face Kerry side Asdee

Pat Ryan

CHARLEVILLE advanced to the Munster JBFC final following their win over Rockwell Rovers on Sunday in Knockaderry. Over the hour the Rathluirc side held power and the outcome was never in doubt after the opening 15 minutes.

Munster JBFC semi-final

Charleville 1-12 Rockwell Rovers 0- 7


Rockwell wind assisted in the first half started well. They opened with an early point by Kevin Heaney. The West Tipperary side added another point soon after. As the half progressed Charleville came very strong using the short passing to good effect.

Mark Kavanagh opened their account in the eighth minute. The North Cork side enjoyed plenty of possession but they had some bad wides. By the end of the first quarter Andrew Cagney levelled. Andrew followed with a second point when put through by Darren Casey.

Now on top in the half back line and midfield sectors Charleville got to grips and some well taken points by Shane Connolly, James O'Brien and a pointed free by Cagney 0-6 to 0-2. Rockwell had a late point by Stephen Boland.

Both sides missed a goal scoring chance – Rockwell's David Brennan being denied by the crossbar while the winners Jason O'Hara cut through only to be denied by a splendid save by Rockwell keeper James Dudley. Charleville led 0-6 to 0-3 at the break.

In the second half Charleville took control. They closed down the Rockwell attack and held them to a single point in this period. On the otherhand the efficient Rathluirc side added a goal and six points. The goal by Shane Connolly after good work by Michael O'Flynn and Andrew Cagney that edged them seven points clear 1-7 to 0-3.

Further points by Mark Kavanagh, Michael O'Flynn 45 and James O'Brien were followed by a sole pointed free in the closing moments by Stephen Boland. Charleville emerged victors by an eight point margin.

They will now face Asdee (Kerry) in the final this Sunday in Knockaderry 2pm.

CHARLEVILLE: D O'Connell, D Collins, P J O'Halloran, C Casey, B Dennehy, M O'Flynn 0-1 A Dennehy, D McCarthy, D Casey, S O'Sullivan, G Kelleher, A Cagney 0-4 J O'Hara, J O'Brien 0-2 M Kavanagh 0-4 S Connolly 1-1, Subs D Murphy for B Dennehy, M Gammell for D Casey, M O' Brien for J O'Brien, D McCarthy for D Collins

ROCKWELL ROVERS: J Dudley, R O'Halloran, W Flynn, B O'Riordan, D Lonergan, K Halley, C Heaney, K Moloney, 0-1, D Brennan, A Moloney, S Boland 0-4 M Barron, S Byrne, J Heffernan 0-1 K Heaney 0-1

Referee: Jason O'Mahony (Limerick)


Promoted Links

Promoted Links