Saturday 26 May 2018

Cagney on form as Charleville advance to final

Walsh's Pharmacy (Fermoy) JBFC


Charleville 1-16

Abbey Rovers 0-7

CHARLEVILLE will meet Araglin in this year's Walsh's Pharmacy (Fermoy) JBFC final after they ran out worthy winners in the semi final at Killavullen on Friday evening.

From the offset the better equipped Rathluirc side controlled matters resulting in the issue never really being in any doubt. The winners gained the upperhand early on in the key half backline sector where Gavin Kelleher, Barry McCarthy and Michael Flynn excelled ensuring plentiful supply to their forwards where Danny O'Flynn, Shane Corkery, Breandan Casey and Mark Kavanagh with points moved them into a 0-5 to no score lead by the 12th minute.

Abbey Rovers improved as the half progressed and on at least two occasions missed two goal scoring opportunities. Michael Linehan recorded their first score a pointed free at the end of the first quarter, but it was quickly cancelled out when Breandan Casey and Shane Corkery were on target at the otherend by the 18th minute 0-7 to 0-1.

Abbey Rovers battled back well with the impressive Eoin Noonan setting up Wesley Walsh for a point and just when the Castletown side seemed right back in the tie Charleville extended their lead when a delivery by Shane Corkery out on the endline was broken down on the edge of the square by Mark Kavanagh with Andrew Cagney quick to react to finish to the net and it helped them go on to hold a 1-7 to 0-3 interval lead.

On the changeover despite Danny O'Flynn and Shane Corkery having early points for the winners Abbey Rovers enjoyed their best spell during the opening exchanges with Muiris Browne, Tom O'Shea, Eoin Noonan, Richard Relihan, Pat Madden and keeper Michael Devine making an impact. The Rovers kicked over two points in quick succession by Michael Linehan and Eugene O'Shaughnessy but in truth they lacked the scoring threat their opponents possessed as Charleville pushed on from here.

The Rathluirc side added some well taken points in the last 20 minutes by Shane Corkery (3) Andrew Cagney, James O'Brien, Michael Flynn and James Casey that set them on their way to a comfortable victory while Abbey Rovers who battled to the end added two more points by Michael Linehan.

CHARLEVILLE: D O'Connell, D McCarthy, D Collins, C Casey, G Kelleher, B McCarthy, M Flynn 0-1, D O'Flynn 0-3, S O'Sullivan, B Casey 0-2, A Cagney 1-1 J Casey 0-1, S Corkery 0-6 (0-1f) M Kavanagh 0-1, S Connolly Subs: J O'Brien 0-1 for D O'Flynn, D O'Sullivan for C Casey, B Barrett for M Kavanagh

ABBEY ROVERS: M Devine, W Madden, T Barrett, R Relihan (Jnr) P Madden, J Batterberry, S Mullane, M Browne, R Relihan, W Walsh 0-1, T O'Shea 0-1, E Noonan, M Linehan 0-4f, E O'Shaughnessy 0-1, A Butler Subs: T Kett for S Mullane, J O'Callaghan for A Butler, R Treacy for R Relihan (Jnr) A O'Callaghan for E Noonan

Mallow to Dingle

A GROUP from Mallow will cycle from Mallow GAA Sports Complex this Saturday May 11 to Dingle. It is in aid of the Jack and Jill Children's Foundation Enquiries to Kieran Mills 086-8127333. Your support for this worthy cause would be greatly appreciated.