Friday 15 December 2017

Buttevant well on top after break

BUTTEVANT had a nine-point win over Glanworth in the O'Sullivan/Lewis Accountant's (Mitchelstown) U21 B FC at Mallow.

Under 21 B FC

Buttevant 3-7

Glanworth 1-4

The winners lined out without the unavailable Sean Madigan while Glanworth were short the injured Diarmuid Colfer. Glanworth aided by the strong wind in the first half created many scoring chances but their slender two point advantage at the break never looked like being enough.

Ian Murphy opened with a fifth minute point with John O'Sullivan adding a free soon after. Buttevant found it hard against the wind with alot of their deliveries dropping short and being cleared. Brian O'Shaughnessy was in good form and he pointed from play and a free by the 20th minute. Both sides had a few goal scoring chances but defences were very tight and Glanworth with just two more points by John and David O'Sullivan led at the break 0-4 to 0-2.

For the second half Buttevant dominated all through. Their defence were very solid and Anthony O'Neill and Luke Ring impressed in midfield. The winners had four points in quick succession by Anthony O'Neill, Brian O'Shaughnessy,

Seamus Madigan and John Buckley. Anthony O Neill was denied a good scoring chance by the upright in the 43rd minute. Luke Ring punched to the net after good work by Darren Quinn and Brian O'Shaughnessy. Jordan O'Regan came on as a substitute and goaled in the 51st minute 2-6 to 0- 4. Glanworth had their only score of the half two minutes later by Michael Gallagher. Soon after a long kickout by Ronan O'Donovan was gathered by O'Shaughnessy who set up O' Regan for his second goal 3-6 to 1-4.

BUTTEVANT: R O'Donovan, J Finn, S O'Flynn, I Barry, C Cole, J Buckley 0-1, N Cullen, A O'Neill 0-1, L Ring 1-0, D Quinn, S Walsh, D Walsh, B O'Shaughnessy 0-4 (0-2f), M Broe, E O'Neill. Subs: J O'Regan 2-0 for S Walsh, Seamus Madigan 0-1 for M Broe, C Jones for E O'Neill, D Noonan for J Finn, C O'Toole for D Walsh.

GLANWORTH: B Roche, D Hannon, J Meaney, S Sheehan, S Coughlan, T Condon, J Fitzgibbon, N Fogarty, P Blackburne, I Murphy 0-1, D O'Sullivan 0-1, M Gallagher 1-0, B Sheehan, C Hannon, J O'Sullivan 0-2 (0-1f). Sub: C Murphy for D Hannon.

Referee: John O'Leary (Mallow)


Promoted Links

Promoted Links