Tuesday 21 November 2017

Ballygiblin's form changes

Children from Shanballymore National School. L-R: Conor McDonnell, Shane Looney, Julie O'Regan, Siobhán Burke, Leon Fitzharris and Peter Noonan. Back row; principal Michael O'Sullivan, Fr Gerard Condon and teacher Siobhán Shinnick.
Photo:Dermot FitzGerald
Children from Shanballymore National School. L-R: Conor McDonnell, Shane Looney, Julie O'Regan, Siobhán Burke, Leon Fitzharris and Peter Noonan. Back row; principal Michael O'Sullivan, Fr Gerard Condon and teacher Siobhán Shinnick. Photo:Dermot FitzGerald

BALLYGIBLIN Junior A hurlers had their second win in a row on Sunday at Kilworth in the Cavanagh's Fermoy Div 1 HL against East Cork opponents.

Having tasted defeat in the opening three league games relegation was very much a reality. However, recent form has now changed this reality. Good victories in the last two weeks over Midleton and Erins Own has now seen them move away from the relegation zone.

They have still to play Churchtown in the coming weeks. Sunday's win over Erins Own came with a very good second half performance.

Erins Own led 2-5 to 1- 2 at half time. Seventeen year old Joseph O'Sullivan with a great second half scored the match winning goal and a point in the closing moments to secure a 2- 11 to 3- 6 win.

Team : Christopher Noonan, Cathal Murphy, Pat Norris, Brian O'Gorman, Declan Power, Stephen Fox, Barry Coffey, Michael Walsh, Fionn Herlihy, Greg Carroll, Danny Duggan, Cain O'Mahony, Keith McGrath 0-1, Shane Beston, 1-2, Joseph O'Sullivan 1-6 (1-2f) Subs Pat Molloy for Danny Duggan, Paul Seymour 0-1 for Shane Beston (inj). Ballygiblin now face Ballyhooly in the opening round Premier JHC this Saturday evening in Kilworth 7.15pm, This Friday night May 17 the club will hold their annual Table Quiz at the Hunters Rest 9.00pm


Bookings are now being taken for September 2013 intake at Bright Sparks Brigown. ECCE Funding for both morning and afternoon classes. If you would like to call or view the Preschool Environment phone 025 - 86799.


There will be a Rock 'N' Roll & Country Show Pink night for cancer this Saturday in the Firgrove Hotel featuring Deak Rivers, Buddy Holly & Gl Elvis, Trina O'Reilly- Country & Modern Route 66- Country Mix, Dave Sharkey - 50s & 60s South East Rock 'N' Roll Dancers.

Tickets at the Hotel or online Xtravision outlets nationwide and at the door on the night. Tickets including entertainment and finger food €20. Charities to benefit Breast Cancer and St./ Joseph's Foundation.


Mitchelstown Healthy Town conducts Group Walks every Tuesday from New Square at 7pm. Leaders conduct walks from 3 kms upwards for all ages. It is hoped that walks will expand as a social, physical and emotional amenity assist. Ladies keep fit resumes at St Fanahan's College Tuesday nights at 9.30pm.


Bealtaine Festival is the celebration of creativity in older age. You are invited to join the group to celebrate Bealtaine during the current month of May. If interested call Liz Fay at Mitchelstown Library 025-41939 or email


There will be tips and websites on how to trace your tree at Mitchelstown Library on this Saturday May 18 at 10am. Gathering - Mitchelstown celebrate

with Clans meet, Music, School Reunions, Caves, Walks/Cycles/Runs, Faction Fight, Sports, Festivals, Tug O War, High Nelly Cycle, Old Style Dance, Irish Night, Point to Point, Talent Show, Dances, Tea Party, Mystery Tour, Carnival, Writers, Storytelling & Culture, Choirs, National Welly Throw, Heritage Week, Model Mania, See Mitchelstown pages at facenook/


Mitchelstown has been chosen to host the finish of Stage 5 in this year's An Post Ras. The visit of the Ras to Mitchelstown will be highly beneficial to the local economy as well as raising the National and International profile of the town.

It will provide a thrilling spectacle and most importantly of all, it will attract young and old to the sport of cycle racing. Over 200 cyclists will take part and it is expected that hundreds of their supporters and families will converge in town for the occasion, It all happens on Thursday May 23 when the Ras will leave Glengarriff in West Cork and arrive in Mitchelstown between 2pm and 3pm after a trip of 153 kms.

The route will include Macroom, Millstreet, Rathcoole, Banteer, Mallow, Newtwopothouse, Doneraile, Kildorrery into Mitchelstown. On Friday the Ras leaves Mitchelstown for Carlow via Cahir, Cashel and Urlingford. Traffic diversions will be in place in Mitchelstown from 2pm. Disruption will be kept to the minimum and will only be in place while the cyclists are coming through the town to the finish line just below the Post Office.

At 11am on Thursday the RAS organisers will be erecting barriers on Upper Cork Street. Parking restrictions will apply. Parking will be available at the Mart Premises. On Friday morning Traffic control measures will again be in place while the cyclists move off for Stage 6. (Disruptions on Friday morning will only be for a period of about 20 minutes) The Ras coordinators in conjunction with the Gardai request all to kindly co-operate with these traffic management measures. In 1976 the An Post Ras (Circuit of Ireland) last visited Mitchelstown

Many changes have taken place in these 37 years. Mitchelstown is the smallest town in Ireland to have a full 360 degree rin groad all round the town.


The death occurred after an illness at his residence Glanmire Co Cork of David O'Farrell late of Glenduff Mitchelstown. The late Dave was very well known having had a very successful Jet Filling Station in Sallybrook up to his retirement.

There was a very large and represented attendance at the removal on Saturday evening from Barry Bros. Funeral Home Hazelwood Glanmire to trhe local St Joseph's Church in Springhill and also at the Requiem Mass and burial on Monday.

Interment took place to Ardnageehy Cemetery. To his son Sean, brother Tom, sister Mary (Fitzgerald) daughter in law Grainne, grand daughter Mairead, nieces, nephews, relatives and friends we tender our sincere sympathy.


The winning numbers were 4, 27 and 39. There was no jackpot winner. Lucky dip winners of €50.00 each John Greaves, Rockmills, Kildorrery, Kit McCarthy, Kilclooney, Knockanevin, and Zara Bell c/o Mick O'Keeffe.


The numbers drawn were 16, 22 & 24. There was no winner of the jackpot of €700.00 Lucky dip winners €30.00 each to Tom LOnergan Derrylahan, Mitchelstown, c/o self and Jimmy Ryan Ballylanders c/o Billy O'Callaghan €20.00 each to Tristan Connolly, Ballylanders c/o Ann Cleary and Breeda O'Keeffe, Mitchelstown c/o Bridie Walsh.


Promoted Links

Promoted Links