Monday 19 February 2018

Ballydesmond shake off Dromtariffe's dogged challenge

Niall Fleming about to shoot Ballydesmond's goal against Dromtariffe in the Duhallow Cup. Photo by John Tarrant
Niall Fleming about to shoot Ballydesmond's goal against Dromtariffe in the Duhallow Cup. Photo by John Tarrant

Duhallow Cup

Ballydesmond 1-17

Dromtariffe 1-14 (AET)

INTERMEDIATE outfit Ballydesmond edged out a spirited Dromtariffe in a keenly fought Duhallow Cup played in Dromtariffe .

The outcome wasn't finalised until into extra time where the visitors held the composure to turn the screw to kick decisive scores. At times, Dromtariffe deserved better, gave as good as they got and let a four points slip midway through the second half.

But when required, Ballydesmond dug deep and raised their performance levels considerably to secure a position in the semi final stage. Ballydesmond had enjoyed a distinct superiority early on, playing neat football to chalk up three points from Niall and Brendan Fleming on the run.

Gradually, Dromtariffe warmed to their task and points John O'Sullivan, Daniel O'Keeffe and Gearóid Murphy cut the deficit 0-6 to 0-5 at the break. The game took a swing to Dromtariffe upon the restart, Seamus O'Sullivan and Paddy Daly dictating midfield, well supported by Dan Dennehy and John O'Sullivan.

The latter netted for Dromtariffe assume a 1-9 to 0-8 grip and looking good to spring a surprise. However, Ballydesmond weren't found wanting, their efforts were fuelled by a Niall Fleming goal and the former Kerry junior pointed late to gather parity at 1-11 apiece by the end of the hour.

Into extra time, the game continued to be nicely balanced yet Ballydesmond enjoyed a greater portion of possession from the endeavours of James Dunlea, Shaun Murphy, Tim Howard and the Flemings helped dictate the play.

Dromtariffe did answer and a pair of O'Keeffe points narrowed the arrears 1-14 to 1-13 at the end of the first period. Still Ballydesmond looked the more accomplished side into the second spell, the Flemings and Seán O'Connor adding points to secure a hard earned triumph.

BALLYDESMOND: F O'Sullivan; J Dunlea, S Murphy, Denis Kelly; S Cronin, J Healy 0-1, J O'Keeffe; Donal Kelly, N O'Sullivan; S Kelleher, B Fleming 0-5, R O'Flynn; D O'Connor 0-2, N Fleming 1-7, B O'Callaghan. Subs: T Howard for Kelleher, S O'Connor 0-2 for Flynn, S O'Sullivan for N O'Sullivan.

DROMTARIFFE: D Cooney; D Dennehy, V Browne, C O'Mahony; C O'Donoughue, C Murphy, P Dennehy; S O'Sullivan, P Daly; N O'Sullivan, D O'Keeffe 0-4, D O'Connor 0-2; G Murphy 0-2, J O'Sullivan 1-6, G Burns. Subs: S Murphy for Browne (inj), J Duggan for N O'Sullivan, A Buckley for Burns, S Cremin for G Murphy, E O'Flynn for O'Keeffe, C Galvin for O'Connor.

Referee: D Carroll (Kanturk)


Promoted Links

Promoted Links