Sunday 25 February 2018

Three 'local community development committees'

AS part of the government's new 'allignment' plans for local development, Cork will have three 'local community development committees' – one for each division.

These are due to take over the administration of the multi-million euro LEADER funding from 2015.

According to a spokesperson for Cork Co Council, the local community development committee for North Cork was established as one of 10 'frontrunners' in 2013.

The North Cork LCDC would administer the area currently covered by IRD Duhallow, Avondhu Blackwater Partnership and, presumably, part of the arera covered by Ballyhoura Development.

Work is ongoing in preparation for the establishment of those for South and West Cork – their memberships had not been finalised, as of a number of weeks ago.

The putative make-up of the North Cork LCDC, as revealed by Cork Co Council, is:

Local Government – Cllr. Gerard Murphy, Cork County Council; Cllr. Dan Joe Fitzgerald CCC, Cllr. Noel McCarthy CCC, Moira Murrell CCC, Niall Healy, CCC;

State Agencies – Ted Owens, Cork Education and Training Board, Marie O'Flynn, Department of Social Protection;

Local & Community Development - Carmel Fox, Ballyhoura Development Ltd, Maura Walsh, IRD Duhallow Ltd; Sean Hegarty, Avondhu Blackwater Partnership Ltd;

Social, Economic and Community Interests – Ned Brennan, Respond! Housing; Sean Kelly, Cork County Community & Voluntary Forum; Kevin O'Keeffe, Mallow Chamber; Declan O'Leary, Foróige;

TBA – Agriculture / Farming Sector representative.


Promoted Links

Promoted Links