Monday 15 October 2018

Record-making win sends CBS to quarter finals

Paddy Ryan - Mitchelstown Matters

Mitchelstown CBS senior footballers had a comprehensive win over Tarbert Comprehensive School on Wednesday in the Munster Senior BFC 2nd round at Rathkeale.

CBS dominated all through and the outcome was never in any real doubt. By half time they led 0-10 to 0-2. and four second half goals by Cathal Harrington, Sean Cunningham, Rian Hennessy and Cathal O'Mahony set the Mitchelstown side to their biggest win ever in this competition. The final score was 4 -18 to 1- 6.

CBS now meet either Abbey CBS or Midleton CBS in the quarter final.

Scorers for Mitchelstown CBS: Cathal Harrington 1-5, Christy English 0-5 (0-1f) Rian Hennessy 1-2, Cathal O'Mahony 1-2, Sean Cunningham 1-0, Killian Dollion 0-2, Shane Murphy 0-1, David Hyland 0-1.

Team: Tony Watson (Kildorrery) Colm Whelton (Glanworth) Lorcan Finn (Mitchelstown) Oisin Brennan Ballyporeen) Danny Keane (Mitchelstown) David Hyland (Fr. Sheehy's) Dylan Connolly (Glanworth) Mark Keane (Mitchelstown) Shane Murphy (Mitchelstown) Jordan White (Mitchelstown) Cathal Harrington (Kildorrery) Killian Dollion (Mitchelstown) Christy English (Ballyporeen) Cathal O'Mahony (Mitchelstown) Rian Hennessy (Ballyporeen)

Subs: Tomas Vaughan (Ballyporeen) for Mark Keane, John Hunter (Kildorrery Danny Keane, Sean Cunningham (Kildorrery for Killian Dollion, Sean Leonard (Glanworth for Colm Whelton, Richard Hurley (Kildorrery) for Lorcan Finn, Aaron O'Brien (Mitchelstown) for Christy English, Jack Fogarty (Glanworth) for Dylan Connolly, Matthew Walsh-O'Grady for Oisin Brennan.