Saturday 24 February 2018

Night of celebration as Macroom scouts receive the highest award

IT was something of a graduation night at Macroom Scout Hall when five Beavers achieved the highest award they can attain.

The five Beavers achieved the Chief Scout Award for Beavers and were presented with their National awards and certificates by Joe Willis, Group Leader 28th Cork Macroom Scouts.

This was a wonderful achievement for the boys, their leaders - Barry Crowley, Maureen O'Riordan and Alan O'Riordan and their parents.

The worthy recipients were Fionn Crowley, Daragh Fitzgibbon, Dylan Wenger, Jack Fagan and Darren Sweeney.

Special guests at the awards night were Macroom Mayor Cllr. Ted Lucey, County Deputy Mayor Cllr. Martin Coughlan, Assistant County Commissioner Scouts Pat Spillane, Macroom Parish Priest Fr Donal Roberts, District Commissioner Macroom Girl Guides Josephine Cronin and Leaders of Guide, Brownie and Ladybird units of Irish Girl Guides, Macroom.

The Scout Hall was full with Beavers, Cubs, parents grandparents family and friends on a very enjoyable night.

The Chief Scout Award for Beavers is the highest award attainable in the Beaver programme.

The boys were required to complete work to achieve seven badges from the four areas of skill, physical, community and environment, as well as Scout skills for two adventure skills.

They undertook an expedition of 10 km over a six-hour day. They camped for two days and their task for this event was to find out about different cultures.

"The five boys achievement was hard earned and their success will encourage more boys to follow in their footsteps," said Group Leader Joe Willis.

And it wasn't just about the veterans. New boys invested into Scouting on the night were Beavers James Lucey, Adam O'Shea, Kian Crowley, Mark Condon, Gavin O'Riordan, Thomas Dolan and Conor McCarthy.

Boys invested in Cubs were Finn Stevenson, Nathan Byrne and Aidan Cotter.

"Congratulations to all the boys and to their leaders, Chris Fitzgibbon, Marie Crowley, Catherine Coleman, Barry Crowley, Maureen O'Riordan and Alan O'Riordan," said Mr Willis.

Meanwhile, National Scouting Service awards were presented to Leaders with more than 10 yrs service to Scouting. Recipients were Marie Crowley, Deirdre Henley and Michael Lillis.


Promoted Links

Promoted Links