Friday 19 July 2019

Joy as county titles come tumbling home

John Tarrant

Scenes of joy and celebration greeted memorable success for Charleville, Cill na Martra, Cloughduv, Dromtariffe and Mourneabbey over the bank holiday weekend. From a bumper feast of football and hurling action, supporters travelled in their droves to support their clubs and division in exciting fare with unbridled joy for Avondhu, Duhallow and Muskerry clubs.

Meanwhile, the Duhallow senior footballers lost no caste in defeat after coming up short to St. Finbarrs in the showpiece Co. SFC Final. And a young Aghabullogue side's best laid out plains were ruined by Cill na Martra in the all-Mid Cork Intermediate Final. Little wonder that bonfires erupted in Renaniree and Cill na Martra to acknowledge one of the club's finest hours from a team captained by Graham Ó Mocháin.

The performance thrilled supporters in the Gaeltacht villages and erases the memory of disappointing days over recent years. Charleville earned the sweetest of wins to shade a gritty Courcey Rovers by the minimum of margins in their Co. Premier Intermediate Hurling Final replay at Pairc Uí Rinn.

Red and white supporters savoured a victory that elevates Charleville up to senior ranks in 2019 for the first time since 1952. From a competitive game that hung in the balance right up to the last whistle, Charleville availed of converted frees from Cork star Darragh Fitzgibbon to swing a hard fought encounter with delight for team captain Danny O'Flynn to accept the silverware.

It's a quick return to action for Charleville, this Saturday, when they face up to Kerry side Lixnaw away in the Munster Premier Intermediate Hurling Championship . Dromtariffe added another crown to its illustrious history on disposing a game Kilmacabea in a dramatic Co. Junior A Football Final.

The prize was ready to be plucked during the latter stages, Dromtariffe finishing strongly to allow veteran team captain Seamus O'Sullivan lift the silverware. Further success for Muskerry saw Cloughduv banish the pain and disappointment of the past decade or so following a defeat of Russell Rovers in the Co. Junior A Hurling Final. Victory sparked celebrations in the club's catchment area of Aherla, Crookstown, Kilmurry and Canovee.

Meanwhile, holders Mourneabbey powered their way to victory over challengers Ballymacbery from Waterford in an exciting Munster Ladies SFC Final at Cahir. Captained by Bríd O'Sullivan, Mourneabbey completed a five in a row of provincial titles and now turn their attention to the All Ireland series.