Monday 15 July 2019

2018 Cork Person of the Year due to be named

Joe Schmidt set to be made an honorary Corkman at gala bash

October winner, Mallow’s Danny McCarthy with Manus O'Callaghan
October winner, Mallow’s Danny McCarthy with Manus O'Callaghan

Bill Browne

On Friday, January 18, another name will be added to the illustrious list of those who have won the coveted title of Cork Person of the Year during a star-studded gala bash in the Rochestown Park Hotel.

One of the highlights of the Cork social calendar, the event will see more than 250 guests come together with emcee Claire Byrne to celebrate all that is good and great about Cork and the people who make it such a special place to live and work in. 

While the winners of the 12 monthly awards come from widely different backgrounds and spheres of interest they have one thing in common: their achievements and selfless work many have done on behalf of their communities deserves to be recognised. 

As in previous years, the 2018's monthly winners epitomise the many admirable qualities that Cork people are renowned for - their warm, creativity, generosity of spirit and willingness to go that extra mile to achieve their goals.

Awards founder and organiser, Mallow native Manus O'Callaghan, said he was proud to say that after 26 years the awards were still going strong.

"With so many worthy nominees in 2018, our judges, Tim Lucy, CEO of Cork County Council; and Ann Doherty, CEO of Cork City Council, will have a particularly difficult job on their hands to pick an overall winner," he said.

Mr O'Callaghan said a number of special presentations will be made on the day, perhaps the most notable of these being to Ireland rugby head coach Joe Schmidt, who will join the likes of Michael Flatley and Jeremy Irons as 'Honorary Corkmen'.

He will be introduced on stage by rugby commentator and analyst Donal Lenihan. Journalist Fergal Keane OBE will be inducted into The Hall of Fame, and RTÉ Nationwide producer Eoin Ryan and presenters Mary Kennedy and Anne Cassin will receive an award to mark the programme's 25th anniversary.

Mr O'Callaghan said he was delighted to be able to announce these special awards. 

"Cork is a big rugby town and county, and many Corkonians admire the work of Joe Schmidt in bringing Ireland to the top of the world. Cork players such as Peter O'Mahony, Donncha O'Callaghan, Ronan O'Gara, all past Cork Persons of the Month, have also played a big part in Ireland's success over recent years.

"BBC special correspondent Fergal Keane OBE will be present with his family to receive the Hall of Fame award, which is only the second time we have presented this award in our 26-year history. The Nationwide team will also be there on the day as we celebrate the success of their show", he added.


Cork person(s) of the month:


Kevin Jansson, who is a Cork classical musician.


Dr Con Murphy for his service to Cork GAA


Mary Crilly, director, Sexual Violence Centre in Cork.


Herbie Hendrick, conductor, Cork Butter Exchange Band.


Vera Twomey, medical cannabis campaigner.


Conal Creedon & Liam Ronayne, for their contribution to the arts.


Davy Russell, jockey.


Louise O’Neill, writer.


Eilíse Ireland and Simon Meehan, award-winning science students.


Danny McCarthy, sound and performance artist.


Sanita Puspure, World Champion rower.


Michael O’Flynn, chair of Liam Miller Committee.