Monday 19 March 2018

School honours brightest stars

Laoise Ryan and Nicola Murphy who each received an award for debating.
Laoise Ryan and Nicola Murphy who each received an award for debating.

THE Loreto Secondary School, Fermoy honoured some of its brightest stars during the school's annual awards ceremony last Friday when staff, parents, and students got together to celebrate both curricular and extra curricular prowess.

Academic excellence, sporting success, musical achievement and outstanding project and charity work were all recognised, as well as the many notable skills and achievements of the current transition year students.

The school's 2014 Roll Of Honour highlights the range of talent blossoming at the Loreto:


Volunteering In School Life:

Folk Group: Katie Mason, Shauna McGrath, Becky Collins, Saoirse Lonergan and Sarah Eason.

Examination Aides: Aoife Courtney, Aoife Ring, Clodagh O'Donovan, Shannon Fitzgerald, Muireann Dunne, Meghan Creed, Hazel Burke and Aoife Gowen.

Global School Award: Kelsey Hoare.

Volunteering Award: Amy Barry.

Pramerica Spirit of Community Award: Becky Collins.

Lunchtime Club: Ruth Smith, Rebecca McCarthy, Valerija Semcenko and Dorota Kata.


NASA Scholarship: Elaine Culloty.

Joe Ralph Maths Competition: Sophie Caplice.

Outstanding Leaving Cert Results: Eibhlin Lonergan, Ciara O'Sullivan, Hannah Beresford, Marguerite Cotter, Laura Coughlan and Ciara Sexton.

Outstanding Junior Cert Results: Triona Kenny, Aine O'Brien, Elaine Keane, Una O'Brien, Amy Walsh, Fiona O'Flynn and Rioghnach Hyland.

Special Awards:

Head Girl, Fiona Leamy & Deputy Head Girl, Emma O'Leary.

Special Commitment Awards: Laura O'Connor & Niamh Ryan.

Spirit of May Ward Award: Anita Cremin & Emma O'Leary.

Commitment In School Life:

German Scholarships: Norah O'Sullivan, Fiona O'Flynn, Chloe Ahern, Jadwiga Przestrzelska and Rioghnach Hyland.

Maths and Computing Awards: Una O'Brien, Elaine Keane and Fiona O'Flynn.

Maths Team: Niamh Dolan, Orla O'Brien, Elaine Sheehan and Laura O'Connor.

High Achievers in JC Maths: Aine O'Brien, Norah O'Sullivan, Elaine Culloty, Karen Sheehan, Elaine Keane, Una O'Brien, Fiona O'Flynn, Clodagh O'Donovan, Frances Healy, Laura O'Sullivan and Niamh Dolan.

Leaving Cert Applied Maths Team: Niahm Dolan, Orla O'Brien and Elaine Culloty.

Young Scientists Competition: Chloe Ahern and Emma Walsh.

Salter Festival of Chemistry: Leah Carolan, Jehane Bouanane, Ellena O'Keeffe, and Gormfhlaith Ni Shiochain Bheolain.

National Scratch Competition: Cliodhna Condon and Evie Kearney.

Enterprise in School Life:

YSI Advocates: Katie O'Neill, Karen Sheehan, Evie Kearney, Alanna Fraser, Megan Gibbons, Zoe Sohun, Hayley Quinn, Jessie Broderik, Meadh Mulcahy.

Cookery: Marian Walsh.

Student Council: Kate Mulcahy & Mary O'Donoghue.

Debating: Laoise Ryan & Nicola Murphy.


Athletics: Laura Hayes, Mitchell Kearney, Maeve Ahern and Aileen Hurley.

Football: Susan Gleeson, Mairead Cronin, Saoirse Moore, Aoife Heffernan, Abbie Scannell, Grace Culloty, Cliona Cronin and Ellen Fitzgerald.

Soccer: Aoife Hurley & Aine Cotter.

Rowing: Eimear Cotter, Gill McGirr, Jenny Murphy, Graine Daly, Erin O'Sullivan, Aoife Quinn, Aoife Cunningham, Holly McEvoy, Anna O'Sullivan, Selina Cotter, Katoe Bartley, Sarah Murphy and Amy Walsh.

Hockey: Mary Walsh, Una O'Brien, Aine O'Brien, Sahah Noonan, Shauna Chan, Lucy Collins, Bronagh Bolger, Theresa Murphy, Avril Heffernan, Jade Cody, Ellen Vaughan, Caoimhe Moore, Kathryn Buckley, Niamh Ryan, Grace Kelly, Amy Griffin, Ellen Brooks and Eabha McLaughlin.