Sunday 21 October 2018

Community news: Mitchelstown Matters

Paddy Ryan

Clodagh Barrett from Mitchelstown came in fourth place for the Excellence Award for Music at the recent Leinster School of Music & Drama (LSMD) Excellence Awards ceremony.

Clodagh attends lessons in the Kilshanna Music School and was nominated for her Grade 3 piano exam. At the awards ceremony, she performed Klyner Shertz on the piano.

Launched in 2004 to mark the school's centenary year, the LSMD Excellence Awards is open to the 15,000 students throughout Ireland who took the school's exams in the last year. The top 520 students who participated in the LSMD exams are chosen to compete in the Excellence Awards and finalists are chosen from this group to perform at the Excellence Awards Concert which takes place annually in Griffith College.

There is an Excellence Award for both music and speech & drama with the winners in each category receiving a coveted trophy and cheque for €300.

Commenting on the awards, Karen Casey, Head of Faculty of The Leinster School of Music & Drama at Griffith College, said, "this year's Excellence Awards at Griffith College showcased the very best in talent across the areas of music and speech & drama. We are delighted to see these students and teachers recognised for their outstanding commitment to these disciplines and would like to wish them the very best of luck for the future in their chosen fields,".

Previous winners of the Excellence Awards include comedian Al Porter, Voice UK Finalist Lucy O'Byrne and broadcaster Laura Whitmore.

Jimmy and Crystal Swing at Carmelite Lourdes Group’s Christmas Cracker

Mitchelstown Carmelite Lourdes Group will present a Christmas Cracker on Saturday December 30 at the Firgrove Hotel when Crystal Swing and Jimmy O'Donoghue will be headlining at the music event.

Admission is €15 with all proceeds going to the Mitchelstown Carmelite Lourdes Group.

Kildorrery Community Lotto

There was no jackpot winner. The numbers drawn were 1, 8 & 27. Three lucky dip winners each received €50 as follows: O'Flynn family, Quitrent, Kildorrery, Catherine Roche, Limerick Road, Kildorrery, Michael Walsh, Ballinahalisk.

Next week's jackpot is €8,200.

Park United FC Lotto

There was no jackpot winner. The numbers drawn were 5, 6, 14 & 18. There was one match 3 who received €150: Ann O'Keeffe c/o John Ryan. Winner of the €25 lucky dip voucher was Kellie Cotter c/o Paul Roche.

Araglin GAA Lotto

There was no jackpot winner. The numbers drawn were 14, 25, 27 & 32.

Lucky dip winners of €50 each were: The Five Alley Araglin Syndicate c/o John O'Brien, Ballard, John Condon (Snr) Araglin; €25 each went to Geraldine Sheehan c/o The Swallow Inn, Claudette Colbert, Araglin.

Next week's jackpot is €6.800.

Mitchelstown Rugby Lotto

There was no jackpot winner. The winning numbers were 10, 12, 13 & 24.

The two lucky dip winners of €50 each were Tommy Roche and John McNamara; €25 each went to Pat O'Callaghan, Tim Luddy.

Next week's jackpot is €12,000.

Mass for deceased

Mitchelstown Pastoral Council have organised a Special Mass for the deceased this Thursday night November 9th in the Parish Church at 8pm. The Mass is for all those who died during the past 12 months from November lst to October 3lst. Fr. Joe O'Mahony CC Macroom will be the Main Celebrant.

The families of all those whose funerals took place in the Parish will be contacted. Parishioners whose relatives died outside the parish in the past year should contact the Parish Office beforehand if they wish to have the name of their loved ones to be remembered on the night.

The Mass will be live on the Parish Radio and the Internet.

Day of Reflection

There will be a Day of Reflection at Nano Nagle Birthplace Ballygriffin, Killavullen, this Saturday November 17 from 10am to 4pm, led by Fr John Callanan S.J.

Guided meditative prayer, taking account of our treasured memories, the situation of our lives and our hopes, opening up new pathways to God. Bookings to 022- 26411.

School holds fundraising night at dogs

Presentation Secondary School Mitchelstown will hold a fundraising event in Curraheen Race Track, Cork , on this Friday November 10 and the Parent's Council are looking forward to a good turnout.

Tickets cost €20 (for two adults and two children) First race is 7.45pm. For more information call 025-24394.

Ciorcal cainte at library

The fortnightly meeting of the Mitchelstown Ciorcal Cainte Group will take place in Mitchelstown Library this Friday at 4pm

The emphasis is on having a chat and using whatever amount of Gaeilge you are comfortable with. Beidh failte roimh gach einne.

Concern group annual fast

Mitchelstown Concern Group will hold their annual 12 hour Fast on Friday November 17 in Mitchelstown from 9am to 9pm. Anyone who is available to help out for an hour or two would be most welcome.

Please contact Paddy Ryan 086-8353735.

County final win for Galtee Gaels

Congratulations to Galtee Gaels (Kilbehenny/Anglesboro) who won the Limerick Co JAFC title on Sunday in Bruff when they defeated Croom by 2-16 to 2-3.

This was the first Co Junior title to come to the club since 1988. They now face Dromid Pearses on Sunday week in the Munster JFC semi final in Kerry.

Team on Sunday: Michael Jones 0-1 '45, Eoin Gallahue, Richie Fitzgerald, Ian Whelan, Alan Coughlan, Sean McGrath, Eamonn Moloney, Tommy Childs 1-0, Alan Condon 0-2, Sean Casey 0-2, Robert Childs 0-5 (0-2f) Derek Gallahue 0-1, Padraigh McGrath 0-2, Maurice O'Sullivan, Padraigh Gallahue 1-3. Subs: Brendan McGrath for Derek Gallahue, Eamon Kelly for Alan Coughlan, Wayne Walsh for Maurice O'Sullivan, Pat Cleary for Eoin Gallahue, Paul Moriarty for Eamon Moloney.