Saturday 24 March 2018

Bowling club finances in a healthy state


THE A.G.M. of the Kilcorney Bowling Club was held in Caroline's Bar, Kilcorney, recently. It was a well attended meeting.

Chairman, John Healy welcomed everybody to the meeting. Hon. Secretary Bernie Long gave a detailed account of club activities for the year.

As treasurer she gave a breakdown on the club's finances which she said were in a healthy state.

The following officers were elected. President: Con Kelleher, Vice-President: Timmy Francis Kelleher, Chairman: John Healy, Vice-chairman: Maurice Cashman, Hon. secretary: Bernie Long, Hon treasurer: Bernie Long, P.R.O. Con Kelleher, Fixtures secretary: Willie Joe Leahy, Youth officer: Jimmy Collins. Representing the North Cork Region was Willie Joe Leahy (chairman of the region). A presentation was made to Dermot Twomey for his bowling achievements during the year.


Dromtariffe Ladies held their A.G.M. recently in the clubrooms. The following are management for 2013: under-12s John O'Keeffe and Kieran Flynn, U14 Liam Buckley, U16 Sean Feeley and John O'Keeffe, U18 and U21s Mick O' Connell . The junior manager is yet to be decided.

Club officers elected for the coming year are as follows: Chairperson Sean Feeley, Vice Chairperson Denise Murphy, Secretary Laura Galvin, Treasurer Helen O' Leary, Assistant Treasurer Denise Murphy, PRO Justina Lynam, Registrar Helen O'Leary, Children's Officer Liz Byrnes and lastly Injury Fund Officer Eleanor O' Riordan.

The club hopes to follow up on a successful year last year and wishes all teams and officers the best of luck for 2013.


Monday: 6pm to 7pm basketball ( 1st - 4th class), 7pm to 8pm basketball (5th & 6th class), 8pm to 9.30pm adult basketball.

Tuesday: 5pm to 6pm Athletics, 6pm to 7pm soccer (1st - 4th class), 7.30pm to 8.30pm teenage basketball.

Wednesday: 5.30pm to 6.30pm junior activities, 6.45pm to 7.45pm teen/adult kangoo jumping, 7.45pm to 9pm adult soccer.

Thursday: 6.30pm to 7.30pm juvenile badminton (u11), 7.30pm to 8.30pm soccer (5th and 6th class), 8.30pm to 9.30pm adult badminton.

Friday: 6.30pm to 8.30pm juvenile badminton, 8.30pm to 10.30pm youth club.

There will also be an indoor soccer tournament starting at the end of January.


Winning numbers were 14,15,16 and 32 adn there was no winner of the jackpot of €5,300.00

€50 went to Eugene Healy, The Island, the seller was Eugene Healy.

€20 to each of the following: The Feeley family, Dromagh; Mary Duggan, Gurteen; Alan O'Gorman, Lismore; Denise O'Riordan, Derrinagree; Molly Carroll, Rathcoole; the Flavin family, Millstreet, and Davy Galvin, Derrinagree. Next draw will be at Curtin for a jackpot of €5,400.


At the Denis Horgan Bowling Club in the winter competitions Ned Kelleher and Maurice Cashman recorded a last shot win over Michael Murphy and Colm Kelleher.

Paddy O'Keeffe and Joanne Murphy had a similar win over Donal Cashman and Dan O'Doherty in a return score. Michael Murphy and Colm Kelleher reversed the earlier decision when they beat Ned Kelleher and Maurice Cashman for the last shot. Paddy O'Keeffe and Joanne Murphy had a second win when they beat Donal Cashman and Dan O'Doherty by two bowls of odds. Eugene O'Sullivan beat Michael Murphy for the last shot and beat Ned Kelleher for the last shot in a second score.