Sunday 22 September 2019

Duhallow men in Drogheda for road bowling All-Ireland

Donal Desmond

The All-Ireland Road Bowling Championships will be held in Drogheda this weekend, September 7 & 8, and Duhallow men Mick Moloney and Shane Collins will be in action.

Mick, from Kanturk originally, is the North America Novice 2 champion and Shane Collins of Kilcorney enters as the Munster Novice 1 champion.

There will be six regions competing: London, North America and the four Irish provinces with three different grades - Junior C, Novice 1 & Novice 2.

The Duhallow men will join Brian Coughlan (West Cork) who is the Munster Junior C Champion and Ollie Murphy (Donoughmore) who is the Munster Novice 2 Champion.

Mick, who emigrated to the USA a number of years ago and won the North America Novice 2 Road Bowling Championship this year, plays in an All Ireland Road Bowling championship for the second time. He was runner up to Leinster Champion, Peter Clinton, in the Novice 2 grade final in 2017.

Shane, who currently plays with Dromtarriffe Intermediate footballers and assisted the club as full forward to win the County Junior A Football Championship last year, only started road bowling a few years ago and he has won the North Novice B, North Novice 1 and County Novice 1 competitions so far this year

Supporters will travel to Drogheda to support them and hope they will bring an All-Ireland title back to join Vincent Kiely's (Kilcorney) All-Ireland Junior B trophy which he won last month. Wishing Mike and Shane all the best in Drogheda

The schedule is as follows:

Saturday, September 7:

Junior C semi-final at 12 & 12.20pm (final 1pm on Sunday)

Brian Coughlan (Munster)

Padraig Nugent (London)

Adrian Lappin (N. America)

Kevin Levelle (Connacht)

Ronan McClelland (Ulster)

Gary Shevlin (Leinster)

Novice 1 semi-final at 2pm & 2.20pm on Saturday (final at 3.30pm Sunday)

Shane Collins (Munster)

Sean Sexton (London)

Sean O'Mahony (N. America)

Ger Kennedy (Connacht)

Christopher Fields (Ulster)

JP Clinton (Leinster)

Novice 2 semi-final at 10am & 10.20am on Saturday (final at 11am on Sunday)

Oliver Murphy (Munster)

Danny O'Shea (London)

Mick Maloney (N. America)

Kevin McGuire (Connacht)

Ryan Quigley (Ulster)

Martin Briscoe (Leinster)