Tuesday 21 November 2017

Boherbue and Rathcoole collect Scór titles

County and Munster winning Junior Football Champions from Boherbue pictured at their victory social. Photo: John Tarrant
County and Munster winning Junior Football Champions from Boherbue pictured at their victory social. Photo: John Tarrant

THE Éire Óg GAA Pavilion, Ovens buzzed with excitement for the County Scór na bPáistí finals on Sunday where a capacity attendance warmed to the exciting pursuits of national school children performing in the culturally orientated competitions.

Finalists from throughout the county won the admiration of patrons in the excellent fare served up from the eight diverse competitions. Following a four hour programme, overall honours were spread across the county with Duhallow clubs enjoying a hat trick of wins thanks to the efforts of Boherbue and Rathcoole. From the keen competition, Rathcoole got Duhallow off to a flying start, their rousing jigs and reels titled "Strike Up the Gay Harp" and "Tom Ward's Downfall Jig" collected the Instrumental Music category.

Grenagh enjoyed success, Luke Walsh collecting the accolades in the recitation category with his interpretation of "A Lesson well learned".

From the solo music, Gormfhlaith Ni Shuiochain (Fermoy) landed a popular win. St. Catherines reaped success at ballad group with harmonies aplenty in their two offerings to take victory. Boherbue collected the set dancing title, their interpretation of the Corofion Plain, good enough to ward off the best intentions of opposing teams.

And Boherbue hit winning ways at question time to complete a rewarding outing.

Chairman of Cork County Scór, Pat Malone together with Tony O'Mahony, President, County GAA Board presented the prizes to the winners and runners up. Boherbue emerged worthy winners of the Paddy Carroll Memorial Cup as Best Scór club in the county in a league competition based on participation and success at underage and adult level. In doing so, Boherbue were retaining their title in addition to adding the Best Scór na bPaistí club with club representatives Marie Casey and Margaret Kiely accepting the trophy from Tony O'Mahony.

Seán Fahy compered the proceedings as Fear A' Tí.


Figure Dancing

(1) Carrigaline, (2) Boherbue (Rose Daly, Emma Sheehan, Megan Courtney, Susan O'Connor, Jeesica Sheehan, Lisa O'Keeffe, Roisín Murphy, Ide Marie Herlihy);

Solo Dance

(1) Alan Whelan (Lisgoold); (2) Andrew Collins (Clann na nGael);

Solo Singing

(1) Saoirse Griffin (Kinsale/Summercove NS), (2) Maeve Dineen (Beal Atha n Ghaorthaidh)

Instrumental Music

(1) Rathcoole (Nora O'Sullivan, Leah Murphy, Aoife Buckley, Daire Twomey, Anna Buckley); (2) Kilmacabea Og;

Solo Instrument

(1) Gormfhlaith Ni Shuiocháin (Fermoy), (2) Cian Daly (Knockaclarrig);


(1) Luke Walsh (Grenagh), (2) Maura Fitzgibbon (Milford),

Set Dancing

(1) Boherbue (Ellen Doody, Emma Sheehan, Megan Courtney, Lisa O'Keeffe, Tomás Sheehan, Alan O'Connor, Jerry O'Sullivan, Anthony O'Connor); (2) Summmercove-Kinsale;

Novelty Act

(1) Cobh (2) Ross Ladies Football

Question Time

(1) Boherbue (Alan O'Connor, Emma Moynihan, Tomás Sheehan); (2) Rusheen (Aodh Twomey, Miriam Cotter, Alan Cummins)

Ballad Group

(1) St Catherines (Caitlin Jackson, Sara Barry, Áine Feeney, Caoimhe Galvin, Hope Leahy); (2) Derrinacahara NS


Promoted Links

Promoted Links