Sunday 24 March 2019

Young Talent shines at Duhallow Scór na bPáistí finals

John Tarrant

A fascinating Duhallow Scór na bPáistí Finals attracted a bumper attendance to the Edel Quinn Hall, Kanturk last Sunday where national schools from across the division put forward cultural fare at its best in music, song and dance to production.

The second leg of the divisional final completed an exciting programme, where many months of preparation yielded unanimous approval from Kanturk and Lismire audiences. From the Kanturk Credit Union sponsored event, taking the limelight were Boherbue who recorded five outright wins.

Cullen landed a pair of victories with triumph also for Rathcoole, Kanturk, Rockchapel and Knockaclarig. From the off, Boherbue Figure Dancers hit the perfect start with their 'Cross Reel' to the fore in the opening figure dancing section. Boherbue's Aoife O'Riordan delivered a splendid rendition of 'Shanagolden' to sample success in the solo singing class.

At instrument music, Cullen offered foot tapping tunes to swing the outcome with their interpretation of lively offerings of jigs and reels.  Excellent competition in the demanding recitation section earned triumph for Olivia Cwikula from Kanturk with his excellent interpretation of a Brendan Kennelly composition.

Cullen emerged victorious in the ballad group with harmonies evident from their two offerings, entitled 'Lovely Derry on the banks of the Foyle' and 'Belfast Mill', to take victory. And Boherbue delighted their supporters in their Leiriú, their production 'Hi Fi Granny' holding sway. Six teams treaded the boards in the always looked forward to set dancing section, where Boherbue gained the upperhand on parading 'The Plain Set'. 

A rewarding outing secured Rathcoole the question time title, adding up an impressive marking that fended off the challenge of runners up Boherbue in a playoff. Three solo competitions on the programme generated interest, where the solo music category was won by Kevin McAulliffe from Rockchapel while Caoimhe Broderick, Knockaclarig took the spoils in the seanós dancing and Gavin Daly from Boherbue collected the ordinary solo dance class.

Duhallow Scór chairman Liam Buckley commended all involved on the growing success of Scór na bPaistí that's boosted by the input from sponsors Kanturk Credit Union, represented by Tony McAulliffe and who also acted an efficient Fear An Tí.

Figure Dancing: (1) Boherbue GAA (Gavin Daly. Colm O'Riordan, Caelann Feehan, Dylan Scannell, Maria Sheehan, Aoife O'Riordan, Carmel Kelleher, Saoirse Keeney); (2) Boherbue Ladies Football, (3)Boherbue Handball; Solo Dance: (1) Gavin Daly (Boherbue), (2) Emily Walsh (Boherbue); Solo Singing: (1) Aoife O'Riordan (Boherbue), (2) Saoirse Clifford (Ballydesmond), (3) Eabha Carroll (Freemount); Ballad Group: (1) Cullen (Amy Moynihan, Mahilet O'Leary, Emily Nagle, Vy Ha O'Leary, Humphrey Moynihan); (2) Boherbue, (3) Freemount; Leiriú: (1) Boherbue (Cara Courtney, Dylan Fleming, Ella Vaughan, Clodagh Aherne, Tomás O'Connor, Alex Foley, Seán Óg Sheehan and Shane O'Connor); (2) Boherbue Handball, (3) Boherbue Ladies Football; Recitation: (1) Olivia Cwikula (Kanturk), (2) Seán Óg Sheehan(Boherbue), (3) Caitriona Lehane (Millstreet); Solo Music: (1) Kevin McAulliffe (Rockchapel), (2) Aoife Casey (Millstreet), (3) Colm O'Riordan (Boherbue); Seanós dancing: (1) Caoimhe Broderick (Knockaclarig), (2) Caitlín O'Brien (Boherbue), (3) Cathal Aherne (Boherbue); Instrumental Music: (1) Cullen (Mahilet O'Leary, Dylan Morley, Emily Nagle, Vy Ha O'Leary, Moira Cronin); (2) Boherbue, (3)Millstreet. Set Dancing: (1) Boherbue (Cara Courtney, Saoirse Kenny, Carmel Kelleher, Aoife O'Riordan, Gavin Daly, Darragh Tompkins, Eoghan Moynihan, Colm O'Riordan), (2) Newmarket, (3) Freemount; Question Time: (1) Rathcoole (Ellen Cronin, Olivia Lehan, Christopher Byrnes), (2) Boherbue, (3) Freemount The Duhallow winners go forward to the county semi-final in the Éire Óg GAA Pavillion, Ovens on this Sunday commencing at 2pm.  Meanwhile, the Duhallow Scóraíocht Finals are scheduled for Meelin on Friday, March 15.