Saturday 23 February 2019

Talented youth Scór at county final fiesta

Duhallow, Avondhu and Muskerry clubs take home the County Scor na nÓg spoils

John Tarrant

Cork youth emerged the toast at the County Scór na nÓg Finals hosted in the Éire Óg GAA Pavilion, Ovens, last weekend.

Teenage talent representing GAA clubs right across the county put forward a fascinating programme of cultural entertainment, with outright honours sampled by a number of clubs. An appreciative attendance enjoyed the spectacle, with Duhallow representatives sampling three outright wins thanks to the endeavours of Boherbue and Cullen. 

Avondhu cheers rose for Kilshannig, with Aghabullogue unleashing a powerful surge to the delight of Mid Cork supporters.

Boherbue got off to a perfect start, emerging best in the figure dancing in performing the eight hand reel.  Individually, Katie O'Sullivan from Cullen delivered a surperb rendition of the song, 'The Cottage with the Roses Round the Door', to achieve success in the solo singing, with Robert Dunne from Kilshannig in the runner-up place.

And Cullen maintained their winning momentum by emerging tops in the Ballad Group section, putting together excellent harmonies with their double offering, 'The Night Visiting Song' and 'City of Chicago', good enough to better second-placed St James'.

Kilshannig sampled joy to win the instrumental music section with a selection of jigs and reels, entitled 'Gillian's Apples' and 'The Mossy Banks', with second position awarded to Kilbrittain. Tadhg MacCárthaigh kept West Cork flags flying with a merited win in the production class and a hilarious presentation titled, 'House with a Secret'. 

From the demanding recitation class, Alan Whelan from Lisgoold collected the accolades with a self-penned offering titled 'Scór Caoga'. Second place went to Emma O'Keeffe, representing Boherbue.

A breakthrough for Aghabullogue earned the Muskerry club honours in the set-dancing category, with their interpretation of the 'Ballykeale Set' landing the outright honours from Newmarket. 

Aghabullogue's consistent efforts secured the best overall club, with the Perpetual Trophy accepted jointly by Mary Barry Murphy and Kate O'Sullivan from Cork GAA Board Cultural Officer Richard Murphy.

Bride Rovers' Orla Arnold compered the proceedings as Bean an Tí.

Figure Dancing: 1.Boherbue (Lydia Sheehan, Sophie Dunstan, Margaret Casey, Áine O'Brien, Rosie Daly, Aoidhbe Ducey, Maeve Cremin, Elisha Daly); 2. Carrigaline (Jasmine Murphy, Lucy Murray, Emily Adriannsen, Sarah Byrne, Jessica Lee, Aoife O'Connell, Meagan Giltinan, Wicktoria Nawiesniar).

Solo Singing: 1. Katie O'Sullivan (Cullen); 2. Robert Dunne (Kilshannig). Recitation: 1.Alan Whelan (Lisgoold); 2. Emma O'Keeffe (Boherbue).

Ballad Group: 1. Cullen (Katie O'Sullivan, Maggie Moynihan, Emily Nagle, Gemma Nagle, Clodagh O'Connor; 2. St James' (Méabh Barry, Sinéad O'Donovan, Darragh O'Leary, Ciara Hodnett, Laura Hodnett). 

Léiriú: 1. Tadhg MacCárthaigh (Oisín Daly, Maeve Kingston, Timothy Farrell, Caitríona Keohane, Rory Kingston, Laura Kingston, Louise Keohane, Katie Daly); 2.Boherbue (Padraig Aherne, Emma O'Keeffe, Caitlyn Houlihan, Breeda Vaughan, Aoidhbe Ducey, Donal Murphy, Diarmuid Murphy, Darragh Moynihan).

Instrumental Music: 1. Kilshannig (Robert Dunne, Mark O'Shea, Eoin Turner, Aoife Turner, Sarah Guiney); 2. Kilbrittain (Seán Ahern, Aoife Ahern); 

Set Dancing: 1. Aghabullogue ( Rachel Barrett, Molly Mangan, Michelle Murphy, Anna O'Leary, Niamh Barry Murphy, Amy Dineen, Ciara Lyons, Meabh Murray); 2. Newmarket (Roisín O'Connor, Emma Lynch, Leanne Browne, Muireann Angland, Alan McCarthy, Gavin Fleming, Brian O'Keeffe, Brian Hubbard).

The Cork champions go forward to the Munster Scór na nÓg Finals in Cappoquin Community Centre on Sunday, January 20.