Monday 21 October 2019

Munster Scór delight for Kanturk and Kilshannig

John Tarrant

Tears of joy for Kanturk and Kilshannig after a brilliant outing at the 50th Munster Scór Sinsir Finals hosted in Cork City Hall. 

From a top class programme, county champions displayed their cultural talents, much to the enjoyment of an appreciative attendance in a splendid setting. It was an occasion to remember for Cork and Tipperary, with a hat trick of wins for both the Rebel and Premier counties.

Kanturk's Muireann Vaughan retained her title at solo singing, bettering challengers from Mungret St Pauls (Limerick), Borrisoleigh (Tipperary), Sliabh gCua (Waterford), Lispole (Kerry) and Sixmilebridge (Clare).

"I'm over the moon. It's a fantastic feeling to come back and retain the title against some excellent competition," said an emotional Muireann.

"The song 'Fill a Rún Ó' is in the Irish language, it's a lament of a mother regarding her son and I enjoyed performing," she said.

Kilshannig broke new ground when their Instrumental Music Group of Darragh O'Shea, Sheila Cavanagh, Veronica O'Mahony, Fergus McGrath and Daniel O'Callaghan earned a first time Munster title after seeing off opposition from Tournafulla (Limerick) and J K Brackens (Tipperary). Their foot tapping selection of gigs and reels entitled 'Langstrom's Pony' and 'The Green Grooves of Erin' thrilled their supporters, headed by club cultural officer Michael O'Sullivan.

"It's a special occasion for all involved. This is the 50th year of Scór, we waited half a century for our first Munster senior title," said Michael.  "Having also won a Munster in Scór na nÓg earlier in the year, it's marvellous for all involved to complete a double", he added.

West Cork cheers were reserved for St. James Ballad Group, landing the outright honours by overcoming St Mary's, Caherciveen (Kerry), Sixmilebridge (Clare) and Upperchurch Drombane (Tipperary).

Elsewhere, Boherbue were doubly represented, their Figure Dancers comprised Megan Courtney, Marguerite Hickey, Kate O'Sullivan, Íde Herlihy, Clíodhna Ducey, Lena Sheehan, Siobháin Fitzgerald and Beatrice Casey came up short to Newcastle from Tipperary. And the Boherbue Set Dancers went close also, but Evie Casey, Amanda O'Sullivan, Aimée McCarthy, Hannah O'Sullivan, Timothy Murphy, Eddie Kiely, Jimmy Herlihy and Christopher O'Flynn were denied by Lisseycasey from Clare.

Individually, Danny Corkery (Milford) in recitation was no stranger to the provincial field but on this occasion Treasa McGrath (Newcastle) secured the honours. Kilworth's Leiriú crew of Joe Aherne, Liam Kenny, Michael O'Brien, Beibhinn Kenneally and Shane Donnellan received a favourable reception, with Newport from Tipperary emerging on top.

Fear An Tí for the prestigious occasion was former Munster Council Chairman Jerry O'Sullivan with present Chairman Liam Lenihan on hand to present the prizes.  The provincial winners go forward to represent Munster in the All Ireland Senior Scór Finals in Castlebar on Saturday, April 13.

Rince Foirne:  Newcastle - Tipperary; Amhránaíocht Aonar: Muireann Vaughan -  Cork; Aithriseoireacht:  Treasa McGrath - Newcastle - Tipperary; Bailéad Ghrúpa: St. James - Cork; Leiriú:  Newport - Tipperary;  Ceoil Uirlise: Kilshannig - Cork; Rince Seit:  Lisseycasey - Clare.