Thursday 18 July 2019

Kilshannig, Cullen scoop Munster Scór na nÓg titles

John Tarrant

North Cork clubs Cullen and Kilshannig savoured glory for the second consecutive season at the Munster Scór na nÓg Finals hosted in Cappoquin Community Centre, County Waterford last weekend.

The pick of the crop from underage juvenile GAA clubs drawn from throughout the province convened for the extensive cultural programme.

And from a strong rebel county representation, Kilshannig and Cullen revealed their talents to maintain Cork's status as one of the leading exponents in Scór circles, and both completed back to back titles.

Twelve months ago, Kilshannig wrote their names into the roll of honour with a first time provincial triumph. And the Avondhu club followed up again to sample joy to win the instrumental music section that proved good enough to better the intentions of Lisnaw (Kerry), Sliabh gCua (Waterford), Killea (Tipperary), Miltown/Malbay (Clare) and Feenagh/Kilmeedy (Limerick).

Team members Robert Dunne, Mark O'Shea, Sarah Guiney, Aoife Turner, and Eoin Turner delivered a foot tapping performance much to the delight of a capacity attendance from tunes entitled "Gillians Apples" and "The Mossy Banks".

Last season, Cullen enjoyed a popular win to bridge a 45-year gap thanks to Maggie Moynihan collecting an individual accolade.

2019 beckoned and in a follow up triumph Maggie was part of a Cullen Ballad Group also comprising Katie O'Sullivan, Emily Nagle, Gemma Nagle and Clodagh O'Connor to collect collect outright honours, delivering a surperb rendition of "The City of Chicago" and "The Night Visiting Song".

From a strong Cork representation, there was no joy for Boherbue figure dancers, with also Katie O'Sullivan (Cullen), solo singing; Alan Whelan (Lisgoold), recitation; the Tadgh MacCarthaigh Leiriú nor the Aghabullogue Set Dancers all delivering capable performances only to come up short of the overall prizes.

Boherbue were represented in the Figure Dancing from an octet consisting of Lydia Sheehan, Sophie Dunstan, Margaret Casey , Áine O'Brien, Rosie Daly, Aoidhbe Ducey, Maeve Cremin and Elisha Daly. And a brave showing surfaced from the Aghabullogue set dancing team of Rachel Barrett, Molly Mangan, Michelle Murphy, Anna O'Leary, Niamh Barry Murphy, Amy Dineen, Ciara Lyons and Meabh Murray. 

The triumphant Cork winners from Cullen and Kilshannig now go forward to represent Cork and Munster in the All-Ireland Finals in Castlebar on Saturday, February 16.

Munster GAA Council Chairman Jerry O'Sullivan and Munster Scór Chairman Margaret Whelan presented the prizes to the winning teams.

Results from the provincial finals were: Figure Dancing: Newcastle (Tipperary); Solo Singing:Martin Larkin (Sneem, Kerry); Recitation: Canice Ryan (Sean Treacys, Tipperary); Ballad Group: Cullen (Cork); Leiriú: Na Gaeil (Kerry); Instrumental Music: Kilshannig (Cork); Set Dancing: Spa (Kerry).