Nick Hogan and Michelle Finn win Clara Hill Run in Millstreet

Mallow athletes Joanne McCann, Eaven Long, Joanne Ring, Jean Ryan, Nino Tighe, Liz Dwyer and Mags Hassett completed the Clara Hill Climb in Millstreet. Photo by John Tarrant

John TarrantCorkman

Cork athletes dominated the latest Munster promotion of the Irish Mountain Running Association when Nick Hogan emerged a highly impressive men’s winner to the Clara Hill Run in Millstreet, while Castlemagner’s Carol Finn, representing Leevale AC, bettered former Millstreet winner Mary Louise Ryan of Moore Abbey to take the senior ladies honours.

The outcome was never in doubt once the victor got into his stride from the off, dominating on the upward trek that proved good enough to ward off the challenge of a representative field.

The UCC representative added to his latest collection, fresh from tasting success in the Nagle Mountain marathon before conquering the demanding Millstreet course.

By the end of the staging the Munster organisers were thrilled to complete a highly successful visit to Clara for the popular staging under the coordination of Duhallow AC over a picturesque route covering a 6.2 mile distance.

Following inclement weather of late, a mild afternoon added to the enjoyment of the occasion and it helped swell numbers from throughout the province.

Hogan joined by Henry Browne (West Muskerry), Brian Mullins (St. Finbarr’s), Edward Casey (Clonakilty), Conor McEvoy (Kerry) and Tom Blackburn (Moore Abbey Milers) led the upward march but by the 352m summit, Hogan had upped a gear to pull away by a decisive margin.

On the downward circuit, Hogan emphasised his dominance to take the tape at the finishing line in a fast time of 34 minutes 50 seconds, to better Browne by 24 seconds with Brian Mullins filling third position.

“I liked the course, some inclines, woodland and open mountain, Hill running tells more of fitness levels than road races, I took a grip and built a nice lead in testing underfoot conditions while on the descent, I held a focus over the terrain,” said Hogan.

The city man is very much in form, having enjoyed prominent places in road races over recent weeks.

Duhallow AC AGM

Duhallow Athletic Club hosted its AGM in Rockchapel with a full review of the past year’s activity undertaken. Officers elected for 2023 were President Jack O’Keeffe; Chairman Donie Shine; Vice Chairman Jer Murphy; Secretary, Michael Murphy; Treasurer, Jerry Twomey; Asst. Secretary Anne O’Connell; PRO Shane Browne.; Mens Captain/Training Coordinator, Finbarr Murphy; Ladies Captain, Anne O’Connell.