Saturday 16 December 2017


Margaret and Tom Wilkinson at the Captains' Dinner at Coolattin Golf Club.
Margaret and Tom Wilkinson at the Captains' Dinner at Coolattin Golf Club.


On Saturday night last a capacity crowd attended the Captains' Dinner which was staged in the Clubhouse. The number attending bore testimony to the popularity of this year's two captains, Joe Lennon and Hazel Butler. Special guests for,at what was a very enjoyable function were Woodenbridge member, Conor Maguire, representing the Golfing Union of Ireland and the Reverend Chris Hayden. Master of ceremonies for the evening was club honorary secretary, Jack Lynch.

Christmas Competition (13 holes): Winners: Sean Doyle (18), Matthew Cowman (13), Packie Gorman (23) witha score of 63 points, Runners-up: Joe Hilliard (8), Pat Gethings (9), John Rossiter (16), Lynn Deegan (23). Third: Paul Murphy (8), Tom Ryan (14), Donal Levingstone (12), Joe Dempsey.

The prizes for the ongoing Christmas competitions will be presented in the clubhouse at 4.30 on Sunday, December 16th. Members are reminded that on the remaining Saturdays there will be a thirteen holes singles completion, instead of the draws on Saturdays.


Turkey :Mens 1st E Harkin 2nd N Smyth 3rd J Murray

Ladies 9 Hole Stableford: 1st M . Bolger 20pts (10); 2nd P Pearson 16pts (18); 3rd V Casey 14pts (17)

Kilcoole Ladies

Weds, Nov 28: Division 1: 1st Gillian Moore 22 H/cap 22 Points; 2nd Jo Swan 19 H/cap 18 Points; 3rd Mary Spieran 23 H/cap 18 Points

Division 2: 1st Winnie Kelly 32 H/cap 18 Points; 2nd Lily Corcoran 31 H/cap 18 Points; 3rd Laraine Joyce 33 H'cap 20 Points; Division 3: 1st Olive Kelliher 36 H/cap 17 Points

Sat, Dec 1: 1st Stella Purcell 23 H/cap 19 Points; 2nd Colette Kelly 26 H/cap 17 Points


McCreddin Winter League Week 4: Singles Stableford - 1st: Stephen Mann(16) 44pts; 2nd: Gerry Phelan(6) 38pts; 3rd: Andrew Burke(15) 36pts;

A very successful AGM was held last week. The committee members elected for 2013 are: Captain : Gearoid Griffin; Vice-Captain : Dave Parle; Hon. Secretary : Sean Breen; Hon. Treasurer : Paul Lewis; Handicap Sec. : Dave Parle; Committee members : Brendan Byrne, Johann Koen. Best of luck to all.

Week 5 of the winter league will have a draw next Saturday at 10am. There will be free entry for this for members.


Brendan Doogue officiated at his last function as Club Captain at a very well attended Club A.G.M. on Sunday evening last. He thanked all the members for a wonderful year, the highlight being the clubs victory in the Cullen Trophy.

Brendan gave special mention to his family for their support throughout the year and also paid tribute to our Club Professional Tom O'Neill for his work with the Juvenile section and applauded his easy going manner with all members. He was very grateful to the Club Officers Jim Murray and Tom Hannafin for their time, dedication and commitment to our club. Our Club Treasurer Tom presented a very detailed set of accounts to the meeting, with our Club Secretary Jim presenting his report for the year.

The two motions discussed were passed unanimously. In closing the meeting Brendan presented the incoming Captain, Pat Byrne, with his Captains Blazer for 2013 and assured Pat of his support throughout the year.

The following were elected to the Club Committee for 2013: Club Captain Pat Byrne; Club Secretary Jim Murray; Club Treasurer Tom Hannafin; Lady Captain Linda Kennedy; Men's Vice Captain Sean O'Connor; Lady Vice Captain Marie Walsh; Men's Section Rep. Padraig Kavanagh; Ladies Section Rep. Mary Ross; Trustees Rep. John Glynn; Ex.Officio Brendan Doogue; Committee Michael Browne, Raymond Danne, Niall Doogue, Richard Lynch and Robert McHugh. Best wishes to all committees for the year ahead!

The 6th round of the Winter League was played this weekend. North Tipp native Michael Collins shot the round of the weekend scoring 33pts and leapfrogging 13 places up the leader board. Joe Rattigan came second with 32pts and Tom Goff shot 31pts to finish 3rd. The league after 6 weeks is as follows noting that 5 out of the 7 cards will count.

1st Liam Molloy 74 (66); 2nd Michael Collins 64 (61); 3rd Bryan Kilcoyne 69 (60) David Whelan 66 (60); 5th Tom Byrne 67 (59).

Next weeks domestic cuts are Michael Collins -2, Seamus Kavanagh, Joe Rattigan and Tom Goff -1.

Upcoming Events: 8/9 Dec Winter League final round; 9 Dec Children's party with a visit from Santa Clause

Bridge Hotel Golf Society

The competition last week played at Arklow Golf Club was won by Shaun Carey. with 33pts. Class 1 Gerry Kavanagh 28pts. Class 2. Martin Stokes. 31pts. Nearest the pin. Fintan O. Connor. 15ft. Front 9. Roy Brauders. 17pts. Back 9. Tony Foley.15pts. Next weeks competition will be held at Glen Mill Golf Club with tee off at 11 oc.


Thursday 29th November: 9 Hole Strokes: Sponsor Ger Murphy; 18 Hole Stableford: Sponsors Anne Liddy & Breda Flannahan. Winner 9 Holes Geraldine Scaife 32.5nett 18 Hole Stableford: Class 1 (0-22): 1st Bernie Darcy (9) 42pts; 2nd Geraldine Scaife( 13) 41pts; 3rd Liz Byrne(12) 37pts

Class 2 (23-36): 1st Breda Bermingham Roberts (24) 38pts; 2nd Lylah O'Beirne (28) 36pts Back 9; 3rd Siobhan Murray (33) 36pts

Greystones Ladies

Tues 27th Nov Team: 1st M Elliott (21) 19 pts; 2nd J Joynt (25) 17.

Thurs 29th 9 Holes Singles: 1st A Costello (24) 20 pts; 2nd N Wood(27 20pts; 3th J Deane(9) 19pts; 4th J Thorpe(17) 19pts.

Promoted Links

Promoted Links