Saturday 20 July 2019

A walk in the park

Senior Camogie semi-final: Knockananna 6-22 Ballinacor1-0

Liam O'Loughlin at Glenmalure

Donard-The Glen are through to the Senior Camogie final which will be played in Baltinglass on the weekend of September 15/16.

Their opponents will be either current champions Knockananna or Glenealy. Both these sides had outings on Tuesday night last, August 28. Bray Emmets lost to Glenealy in Bray while Knockananna travelled to Glenmalure for a showdown with Ballinacor.

Never at any stage did the home side look likely to trouble the Knockananna girls who got into their stride straight from the throw in. The game was played at 12-a-side as Ballinacor were in trouble for numbers.

This gave a huge advantage to the Carlow border girls who were fitter and faster than their opponents and now had more than ample space to display their superior ability.

Ballinacor were completely overwhelmed in this first half and the sliotar seldom passed midfield into the Knockananna half.

The champions ran up an unassailable lead of 6-13 to nil by half-time. At half-time Knockananna made some changes bringing off Claire and Ciara Byrne and bringing on Niamh Byrne, Heather Tallon and Erin Byrne.

They also brought out goalie Macayla Murphy to give them a run in the forward line and switching back Sarah Byrne to replace her.

The tempo of the game dropped considerably in the second half and Ballinacor came more into the game.

Danielle Burke, Tanya Carter, Katie Toomey, Siobhan Toomey and Pamela Maher tried hard to make an impression.

However, it did look for a long time that they might continue scoreless in this half too. Pamela Maher saved their bacon when she netted a goal just before the finish.

We understand that the play-off game between Knockananna and Glenealy may be held in Annacurra on this coming Tuesday night September 4.

We are not aware of time but it cannot be much later than 6.30. Check elsewhere in the fixtures section for confirmation of fixture, time and venue.

Scorers - Knockananna: Sarah Byrne 3-3, Ciara Byrne 1-5, Derbhla Byrne 1-3, Claire Byrne 1-3, Aimee Byrne 0-4, Aine O'Keeffe 0-2 and Macayla Murphy 0-1.

Ballinacor: Pamela Maher 1-0.

Knockananna: Macayla Murphy; Aine O'Keeffe, Sarah Tallon, Orla Kealy, Shannagh Goetelen, Laura Hogan, Jessie Byrne, Claire Byrne, Aimee Maher, Ciara Byrne, Sarah Byrne, Niamh Byrne, Derbhla Byrne, Niamh Mutton. Subs Niamh Byrne, Heather Tallon, Erin Byrne.

Ballinacor: Mary Holt, Danielle Burke, Aine Burke, Shannon Doyle, Tanya Carter, Katie Toomey, Martina O'Ceallaigh, Christine Carter, Noelle Ward, Siobhan Toomey, Michelle Fitzgerald, Pamela Maher.

Referee: Pat Hickey

Bray People