Monday 17 December 2018

Dales moving nicely!

SFL Division 1a at Annacurra: Avondale 2-12 Annacurra 1-10

Avondale heaped more woe on a struggling Annacurra side last weekend when they dispatched John Hynes' men by 2-12 to 1-10 to leave them second from bottom with four defeats from five games.

Goals from the in-form Oisin McGraynor, who can do no wrong it seems across two codes, and Ross Ward helped Emmet O'Sullivan's men to their victory over a depleted but competitive Annacurra outfit.

The home side had to take to the field without the services of Bob Fitzgerald, Shane McAllister, Martin O'Brien and Ian McDonald after their appeal against the four red cards in the Kilmac game the previous week was turned down by the Wicklow Appeals Committee late last week.

With Dean Barnes away on holidays and Liam 'Reilly' Moules injured it left Annacurra with a steep hill to climb. However, had two early goal chances been converted by full-forward Frank Clune, a different outcome could well have been on the cards.

McGraynor was operating at full-forward against the formidable adversary of Alan Byrne and the lethal attacker left the field at half-time having picked up a knock but with 1-1 to his credit.

Conor Byrne, Ross Ward, and Sean McGraynor lead the scoring in the second half with 1-7 shared between them, while the visitors had good performances all round with Eoin Baker, Eamonn Kearns and Barry Sheehan dominating the middle.

Annacurra's Gearoid Murphy contributed 1-4 to the cause (two frees), Clive Horan notched three points (two frees) while Alan Byrne caused his own brand of trouble in the Avondale defence when he fired home a goal to the back of Brian Burke's net.

John Hynes will be happy with his side's endeavour and battling qualities and he will know that there are better days ahead when he can call on more of his stalwarts.

Avondale: Brian Burke, Simon Cullen, Shane Byrne, Shane Beevor, Jack Manley, Eugene Dunne, Adam Benson Byrne, Eoin Baker (0-1), Eamonn Kearns, Paul Gahan (0-1), Barry Sheehan (0-1), Sean McGraynor (0-2), Conor Byrne (0-4), Oisin McGraynor (1-1), Ross Ward (1-1). Subs: Aonghus O'Bhriain, Liam Kinsella, Saoirse Kearon, Davy Baker (0-1), Cian O'Hannain, Shane O'Neill, Seamus McGraynor, Kevin Fitzpatrick, Joe Kennedy, Anthony Byrne, Patrick Kinsella.

Annacurra: David Whitty; Glen Austin, Alan Byrne, James Keenan; Niall Murphy, Elliot Robinson, Mic hael Healy; Mick O'Brien, Paul McDonald; Colm Maher, Gearoid Murphy, Shane O'Keeffe; Clive Horan, Frank Clune, Ciaran Byrne. Subs: Cian Moules for S O'Keeffe (inj), Patrick O'Neill for C Maher. Referee: Garreth Whelan (Kiltegan)

Bray People