Bray People

| 9.7°C Dublin

Councillors paid average of €32,818


THE AVERAGE payment received by members of Wicklow County Council in 2011 was €32,818 while a total of €820,467 was paid out to 25 local representatives over the 12 month period.

While amounts received by County Councillors across the county varied, Fine Gael's Cllr. George Jones of Greystones recorded a total of €83,091 while party colleague Cllr. Irene Winters from Wicklow received the lowest figure of €24,747.

A smaller sum of €22,153 was also paid to Cllr. Gráinne McLoughlin of Greystones who was co-opted onto the Council in place of elected TD Simon Harris who received the sum of €4,050 in 2011 before he took up office in Dáil Éireann.

Within the Arklow area Cllr. Sylvester Bourke earned the highest amount at €48,390 while Cllr. Pat Fitzgerald (FF) was the lowest paid of the five area members at €27,695. Baltinglass area has just three area County Councillors; Cllr. James Ruttle (Ind), Cllr. Edward Timmins (FG) and Cllr Tommy Cullen who earned €27, 883, €28, 070 and €30, 585 respectively. In the Bray area earnings varied from the highest of €42, 280 which was paid to Cllr. John Ryan (FG) to the lowest of €26,420 paid to Cllr. Mick Glynn (FG). The Wicklow area payments ranged from Cllr. Winter's €24, 747 up to €37,536 which was received by Cllr. Conal Kavanagh (Lab).

Dublin Eye

A weekly update on the people and stories that get Dubliners talking.

This field is required