Monday 17 December 2018

Finalists produce a talent-packed show

The under-12 girls who competed in the talent finals in Glenealy Hall on Sunday.
The under-12 girls who competed in the talent finals in Glenealy Hall on Sunday.
The contestants in the under-12 boys categories.

Myles Buchanan

Talented youngsters from across the county took to the stage in Glenealy Community Hall on Sunday to perform everything from recitals to song and dance routines as part of the Community Games Talent Finals.

Judges Aoife and Aiveen Fennell from Kildare had the unenviable task of picking the winners of each category, while a very receptive crowd put each performer at ease.

The MC for the occasion was David Finn of the Wicklow County Board, while the Ashford and Glenealy Committee organised the event and provided the refreshments at the break.

Each gold medal winner will go forward to represent Wicklow at the Aldi Community Games National Finals taking place in Limerick in May.

Samuel Downey and Josh Call of BBKR and Tom Byrne and Sorcha O'Neill from Ashford and Glenealy won gold with their own compositions.

Alanah Miley of Ashford and Glenealy won the under-16 solo recitation. The under-12 winner was Clodagh McKeon of Lakeside, while Kate Geraghty of Arklow was second and Allana Stewart-Fleming of Lakeside was third.

The under-16 solo music winner was Sarah Thompson of Ashford and Glenealy while the winner of the under-12 category was Cody Grove of Ashford and Glenealy.

Rachel Coyne of Westside took the top prize in the under-16 solo singing category, with Louis Connell of Aughrim and Annacurra doing likewise in the under-12 section.

The solo dance winners were Zoe Wilson of BBKR (under-16) and Grace Donohue of BBKR (under-12).

Aoife Ni Murchu and Zoe Wilson of BBKR were the under-16 group dance winners, while Caoimhe Donoghue and Clodagh McKeon, also BBKR, won in the under-12 category.

Katie Broe and Grace Keogh of Lakeside were the under-16 group music winners. Mary McElhinney and Ella Sutton won the under-12s.

Tom Byrne and Sorcha O'Neill of Ashford and Glenealy were winners of the under-16 group singing competition while Samuel Downey and Josh McCall won the under-12 section.

The Mark Collier Perpetual Trophy, which is awarded to the overall winning area, was closely contested between last year's winners Ashford and Glenealy and BBKR, with just two points separating them.

In the end, BBKR lifted the cup for the third time and were presented with the trophy by Mrs Pat Collier.

Bray People