Saturday 15 December 2018

Colin's Keane on Dundalk as he claims jockey title

Horse racing

The Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk Champion Jockey award went the way of the newly crowned Flat Racing Champion Jockey Colin Keane with a total of 35 wins over the calendar year at Dundalk.

Pat Smullen was a close second with 33 wins.

Both Colin and Pat rode a winner on the last night of the season.

Colin rode his first ever winner at Dundalk on board No Trimmings for Gerry Keane in December 2010.

Defending champion Michael Halford was the winner of the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Dundalk Champion Trainer award with a total of 25 wins over the calendar year, with Joseph O'Brien second with 21 wins.

This is the seventh consecutive year Michael Halford took the Champion Trainer award.

Emma Meehan, Sales & Marketing Manager of Dundalk Stadium said: 'Congratulations to both Colin and Michael from all at Dundalk Stadium. To mark their success at Dundalk we will be making a donation in their name to their chosen charities as part of the awards.

'Many thanks to the 4 Star Crowne Plaza Hotel, Dundalk who have provided generous sponsorship of this championship for many years now.'

Racing resumes at Dundalk this Friday.

The Argus