Thursday 14 November 2019

Breen saddles first winner as Latchet gets the job done

It was a landmark evening for Warrenpoint trainer Leanne Breen who saddled her first winner when Latchet obliged in the first division of the 1m2f handicap.

Breen had spells with Mark Johnston and David O'Meara in the UK, and James Cummings in Sydney and mentioned afterwards that she currently has eight horses in training.

The dual for the Irish Flat Jockeys Championship continues with Donnacha O'Brien and Colin Keane both securing victories on the card.

Thames River struck for O'Brien in the auction maiden, justifying strong market support in the process and providing O'Brien with his 106th winner of the season.

Keane's winner came courtesy of Scream in the claiming maiden for trainer Ger Lyons - the winner was subsequently claimed and will be trained by Shane Duffy in the future.

Oisin Orr closed to within one of Andrew Slattery in the apprentice championship when Hazel Bay deservedly got off the mark in the 1m2f maiden. Her rating of 91 made her the standout in the race, but the market spoke in favour of Ger Lyons' Defilade (sent off 13/8fav).

Cautious Approach showed good battling qualities to win the concluding handicap for Limerick trainer Richard O'Brien and Ronan Whelan. The win was a third at Dundalk for Cautious Approach and a 39th winner of the season for Ronan Whelan.

Pretty Smart overcame a wide draw to score in the six-furlong handicap for Conor Hoban and Pat Martin. It was a first career win for the filly on just her seventh racecourse start. With more improvement forthcoming, she could be one to follow for the winter series.

Rathangan trainer Katy Brown saddled On Tick to win the nursery under Mark Gallagher. Brown afterwards attributed the win to the use of cheek pieces, mentioning he travelled much better through the race. He could return for a winners of one event next month.

There's horse racing this Wednesday and Friday.

Greyhound results


Race 1 Santro Ollie won in 28.85 for Michael Fitzpatrick and Lurgan trainer Gary Silcock

Race 2 Blame The Game won in 18.62 for Steve Pomroy & Mr P.A Oliver and Rathkenny trainer Martin Lanney

Race 3 Bellinter Brae won in 28.95 for Eamon Maginn and Downpatrick trainer Damian Maginn

Race 4 Larl Harry won in 19.40 for Mr D.H Montgomerie & Mrs E. Montgomerie and Craigavon trainer Ambrose Quinn

Race 5 Ciaras Swift won in 33.25 for Anthony Feenan and Downpatrick trainer Damian Maginn

Race 6 Carrigmore Bobby won in 21.28 for P-and-A-Coffey-Syndicate and Rathangan trainer Robert Gleeson

Race 7 Kanturk Mint won in 33.04 for Kieran Hicks(Drogheda)

Race 8 Droopys Megan won in 21.61 for Keith Duffy and Rathangan trainer Robert Gleeson

Race 9 Foulkscourt Blue won in 29.65 for James Logue and Derry trainer William Mullan


Race 1 Unlikely Harley won in 21.69 for Brendan Duffy(Derry)

Race 2 Pay The Pilot won in 19.07 for Paul Gallagher and Derry trainer William Mullan

Race 3 Tahina Princess won in 21.60 for Jason Croarkin and Roslea trainer Vera Croarkin

Race 4 Beretta Ella won in 29.05 for owner/trainer MIchael Kelly(Clogherhead)

Race 5 Diegos Sophia won in 28.90 for owner/trainer Fiona Scullion(Craigavon)

Race 6 Colarhouse Buzz won in 29.22 for Jason Whyte(Lifford)

Race 7 Tammen Trooper won in 29.21 for Marti na McCann & Ambrose Quinn and Craigavon trainer Ambrose Quinn

Race 8 Fridays Season won in 29.15 for owner/trainer Paul Whyte(Lifford)

Race 9 Tahina Cormac won in 28.84 for Jason Croarkin and Roslea trainer Vera Croarkin

Race 10 Kilbride Ninja won in 29.32 for Desmond Woods and Downpatrick trainer Damian Maginn

Race 11 Prints Policy won in 28.91 for Georgina Gibbons and Lifford trainer Declan Crossan

Race 12 Olwinn Birk won in 29.01 for Johnny Scott(Cookstown)

The Argus