Thursday 18 January 2018

Mahony's fine run continues with narrow win over Blues

SEAN O'Mahonys wonderful season shows no sign of faltering as they notched up a narrow win over Newtown Blues to record their sixth victory from eight games.

The O'Mahonys got off to a flyer netting a goal after just three minutes. Stephen Kilcoyne followed that up with a point to send the in-form Dundalk side four points clear. However, the Blues have proved difficult to beat this year with just two defeats and they were soon back in the game when Derek Kierans raised the green flag thanks to a clinical finish from close range.

The O'Mahonys opened the scoring in the second half with a Gary Mulligan point but the Blues kept the scoreboard ticking over with McGinn in particular finding his range to keep his side ahead. With 10 minutes remaining the scoreboard read 1-12 to 1-10, but the action was far from over.

The O'Mahonys edged ahead when player-manager Brendan Nordone found the back of the net to put his side a point ahead. But the Blues were not done and they responded well scoring three unanswered points including a gem from McGinn. That put the Drogheda side two points ahead with just four minutes to go as they looked to hang on for a hard fought win.

However with just three minutes left referee Kenneth Dunne awarded a penalty to the Dundalk side and Stephen Fisher made no mistake from the spot.

Sean O'Mahonys: Brendan Traynor; Michael Clarke, Peter Nixon, Liam Dullaghan; Conor Finnegan, Keith McLaughlin, Alan Watters; Shane Brennan, Andrew Nixon; Gary Mulligan 0-1, Brendan Nordone 1-0, Barry Mackin 0-1; Stephen Fisher 2-3, Stephen Kilcoyne 0-5, John O'Brien. Subs: Ronan Byrne for Alan Watters, Niall McLoughlin for Brendan Nordone, David Crawley for Andrew Nixon, Barry O'Brien for Gary Mulligan.

Newtown Blues: Conor Barton; Andrew Tinsley, Thomas Costello, Niall Costello; Stephen Moonan, Paul Moore 0-1, James Murray 0-1; John Kermode 0-1, Brian Kermode; Robert Carr 0-2, Hugh McGinn 0-6, Conor Brannigan 0-2; Derek Kierans 1-1, Barry Sharkey, Cormac McQuillan. Subs: Keith Lynch for Cormac McQuillan, Aiden O'Brien for Derek Kierans, Darren Moore for Niall Costello, Mark Cluskey for Darren Moore.

The Argus

Promoted Links

Promoted Links