Thursday 22 March 2018

Glens win sets up nail-biting title finish

GLEN Emmets set up a mouth watering winner-takes-all clash with Roche Emmets next week as they swept past Naomh Fionnbarra in Cusack Park.

The Emmets victory puts them just a single point behind Roche with the sides due to meet on Friday night in Roche to decide who finishes top of Division 3.

The game got off to a sedate start with the Glen Emmets edging ahead after ten minutes thanks to a Martin Morgan point.

The game burst into life midway through the first half when the home side stunned the 'Barrs with two goals in the space of three minutes.

First Conor Grimes ghosted past the opposition defence to score the games opening goal and just three minutes later it was two goals for the home side when Damien Grimes fired in.

At that stage the scoreboard read 2-4 to just a point for Naomh Fionnbarra. To the away sides credit they finished the half strongly scoring five unanswered points to go in at the break 2-4 to 0-6 behind.

Naomh Fionnbarra picked up where they left off at the start of the second half with a well taken John Dolan score to reduce the Emmets lead to just three points. However that was as good as it got for them and it was the home side who finished on top.

Glen Emmets: Fergus Barnett; Stephen Healy, Colin Carling, Dylan Maguire; Danny Whyte, Derek Johnstone 0-1, Ronan Carr; Conor Grimes 1-4, Andrew Mooney; Tom Grimes 0-1, Martin Morgan 0-1, Keith Lynch 1-0; Mark Noone, David Bracken, Damien Grimes 1-0. Subs: Keith Boylan for Tom Grimes, James Butler 0-2 for Mark Noone, Gordon Healy for Martin Morgan, Jamie Farnham for Derek Johnstone, Mark Garvey for Andrew Mooney.

Naomh Fionnbarra: Allan Matthews; Conor Lenihan, Kieran Lenihan, Bryan Sharkey; Ciaran Murphy, Hugh McGrane, Stuart Osbourne 0-1; Mark Butterly 0-1, Andrew McCann; Conor Osbourne, Fergal Leonard, Martin Murphy 0-1;John Dolan 0-4, Darren McConnon, Martin O'Neill 0-1. Subs: Nicholas Butterly for Fergal Leonard, Chris McGlynn for John Dolan, David Woods for Martin O'Neill, William Woods 0-2 for Conor Osbourne, Shane Fanning for Ciaran Murphy.

The Argus