Monday 15 October 2018

Stars of ladies season honoured at big awards bash

The 2017 Louth Ladies GAA teams of the year were announced on Friday night at The Grove.

Over 132 players from the three respective division were nominated by the club managers with the 15 All Stars chosen by members of the Executive of the Louth Ladies County Board.

The first award of the night went to the Louth Ladies minor team who beat Wicklow in the final of the Leinster B Shield.

Louth Senior captain Aoife Byrne presented the trophy to Captain Ciera Nolan and provincial medals to the team members and mementos to the team management of Edel Woods, Sonia Gernon and Gerry Callan.

The various Teams of the Year were then disclosed with County Board Secretary Liam O'Neill (Division Three), Louth Ladies manager Micheal McKeown (Division Two) and Edel Woods (Louth Ladies Vice Chair) presenting the trophies.

Ladies County Board Chairman Dermot Woods then made a special presentation to Treasurer Johann Fedigan to mark her 21 years of service to ladies GAA in the county. The popular Hunterstown official first joined the Co. Board in 1996 taking the role of Co. Sectretery at the the tender age of 15. She has held the position of county treasurer since 1999 when she replaced Sue Callan. Johann also represented her county with distinction for more than a decade winning two All Ireland medals and Div 2 and 3 league runner-up medals

Individual awards were also handed out for the first time with Sarah Kieran of St Brides taking home the Division One Player of the Year gong.

Paula Murray of St Kevin's was named Division Two Player of the Year with Kelly Connor of Mattock Rangers taking the Division Three honour.

Meanwhile this year's Louth Ladies GAA annual Convention will take place on Sunday December 10th in St. Mary's GAA center with a 5pm start. Clubs are reminded that all nominations and motions should be with the County Secretary no later than 5pm on this Tuesday November 28th.

Teams of the Year 2017

Division 1: Sarah Kieran/St Brides; Siobhan Giggins/Stabannon; Rebecca Carr/Geraldines; Ailish Hand/Geraldines; Jenny Mulrey/St Fechin's; Sarah Englishby/St Mochtas; Rebecca Hilliard/St Brides; Siobhan McDonald/Cooley Kickhams; Niamh Callan/Roche/Na Piarsaigh; Hannah O'Neill/Newtown Blues; Grace Lynch/Stabannon; Rachel McNally/Stabannon; Ann Marie Lynch/Stabannon; Bonnie Fleming/Geraldines; Hazel Haughney/St Fechin's

Division 2: Aine Breen/St Patrick's; Ruth Burlingham/Kilkerley/Dowdallshill; Blanaid Callan/Kilkerley/Dowdallshill; Grainne Murray/St Kevin's; Caoimhe Breen/St Patrick's; Marie Clare Rogers/Naomh Fionnbarra; Ciara Power/Geraldines; Hannah Kelly/Glyde Rangers; Daria McGinty/Dreadnots; Gemma Finnegan/Naomh Mairtin/Glen Emmets; Roisin Osborne/Naomh Fionnbarra; Susan Byrne/St Kevin's; Rachel McNally/Kilkerley/Dowdallshill; Paula Murray/St Kevin's; Aoife Gregory/St Kevin's

Division 3: Roisin Crowe/Newtown Blues; Rachel Kane/Mattock Rangers; Charlene Murray/O'Raghallaigh's/Plunketts; Aime Kirwan/Newtown Blues; Kelly Hughes/Clan na Gael; Shannon McLaughlin/Clan na Gael; So So Tshunungwa/Newtown Blues; Kelly Connor/Mattock Rangers; Seoda Matthews/O'Raghallaigh's/Plunketts; Ciara Woods/Clan na Gael; Grace Smith/Clan na Gael; Grainne Reid/Mattock Rangers; Megan Minogue/Mattock Rangers; Niamh Dooley/Mattock Rangers; Emma White/O'Raghallaigh's/Plunketts

The Argus