Sunday 25 February 2018

Six clubs play their part in successful McCreesh blitz

TERMONFECKIN was the venue on Saturday afternoon for this years U-11 McCreesh Shield Blitz where six clubs took part.

'A' Shield holders St Fechins were grouped with Naomh Moninne and 2012 'B' Shield winners St Kevins. Contesting the 'B' Shield were Knockbridge, Pearse Og and Geraldines with the top two teams in each group contesting the finals.

Having recorded narrow victories over St Kevins it was the home side and Moninne who went on to contest the 'A' shield final. With both defences on top neither side could manage a score in the first half of the final. Moninne were rewarded for the efforts when Ben Walsh got through to score what would turn out to be the match winning goal.

Afterwards the McCreesh 'A' Shield was presented to the Naomh Moninne captain Ben Walsh by Peggy McCreesh.

'A' Shield group results: Naomh Moninne 1-1 St Fechins 1-0; St Fechins 1-1 St Kevins 1-0;

Naomh Moninne 1-2 St Kevins 1-0. Final: Naomh Moninne 1-0 St Fechins 0-0.

NAOMH MONINNE: Sean McGill, Conor Murphy, Brendan Prendergast, Cara McKeever, Dillon Conophy, Ben Walsh, Stephen Yore, Daire Reilly, Cormac Brannigan, David Brennan, Fionn Cumiskey, Aaron McGuinness Smyth, Shane Shields, Diarmuid McEneaney, Cian Walsh, Eddie Finegan, Alex Murphy, Conor Whyte.

St Fechins: Conor Brennan, Eoin Hackett, Zac Lennon, Josh Murtagh, Harry O Neill, Ben Savage, Eoin Brennan, Jamie Devlin, Mark Houlihan, Joey Savage, Christian McCluskey, Ben McCabe, Luke Matthews, Cillian McCormack, Paddy Keane, Tadhg Gallagher.

'B' Shield

BY virtue of group victories over the Geraldines it was Knockbridge and Pearse Og who qualified to contest the 'B' final. Pearse Og were looking to add this title to the O Broin 'B' won a couple of weeks previous and they looked on the way to doing just that when they led by 1-2 to 0-0 at half time in the final.

However they failed to add to their tally after the break as Knockbridge hit back scoring 1-3

without reply to seal the victory.

Afterwards the McCreesh 'B' Shield was presented to the Knockbridge captain Daniel Mc Ardle by Peggy McCreesh.

'B' Shield group results: Pearse Og 4-2 Geraldines 0-1; Knockbridge 0-4 Pearse Og 1-0, Knockbridge 4-3 Geraldines 2-1. Final: Knockbridge 1-3 Pearse Og 1-2.

KNOCKBRIDGE: Jake McNamara, Dara Toner, Niall Quigley, Mark Brady, Conor Byrne, Colin Marry, Robert Gray, Daniel McArdle.

PEARSE OG: Ryan Boland, Aidan O Brien, Tiernan Myles, Leon Mulholland, Cillian Myles, Callum McEvoy, Caolan Lyndsey, Tiarnan Nash, Paddy Wehrly, Ronan McEntaggert, Seamus McEntaggert, Sean Hoey, Fionan McGurk.

GERALDINES: Niamh Cunningham, Donnacha Hughes, Rebeccan Mooney, Brendan Saddlier, Fiona Matthews, Aoife Johnson, Rory O Brien, Geordan Richardson, Oisin mc Grath, Diarmuid McShane, Tom Howard, Matthew Geraghty, Sky Chan, Kalem Rogers, Padraig Grennan, Karissa Lynch.

The Argus

Promoted Links

Promoted Links