Monday 23 September 2019

Plunketts continue good form with win over Lannleire

Division 2/3a - Oliver Plunketts 2-10, Lannleire 1-12

Oliver Plunketts impressive end of season form continued on Saturday night when they pipped Lannleire to secure their place in Division 2 for next season.

The Drogheda men came through the play-off final in Dunleer when they just about held off a late rally from the home side to win by a point.

It was a disappointing end for Lannleire who matched their opponents for much of the game but they were left to rue a very slow that that ultimately put an end to their promotion hopes.

The Plunketts went into the game as favourites and it looked as if they were on course for a comfortable win when they made a bright start. With just three minutes on the clock Niall Murtagh scored the opening goal and soon after Conor Early added a second to put his team very much on top.

However, the Dunleer men didn't let their heads drop and scores from Colin Murphy helped them get back into contention.

Just before they break they were given a great boost when Killian Murphy hit the net to see the teams go in at the break level at 1-5 to 2-2.

The third quarter saw the Plunketts reassert their authority and with just eight minutes to play they had a six point advantage thanks to scores from Rory Taaffe, Davy Lambe and Sean Callaghan.

However, Lannleire refused to give up and reeled off five successive points but the final whistle sounded before they could complete the comeback.

OLIVER PLUNKETTS: Luke Haggins 0-1; Sean Rice, Frank Daly, Cillian Matthews; Gary Keogh, Cian Matthews, Barry Reynolds; Robbie Brodigan 0-1, Dean Carolan; Davy Lambe 0-2, Conor Early 1-0, Cian Brady; Sean Callaghan 0-2, Brian Fitzpatrick, Niall Murtagh 0-1. Subs: Rory Taaffe 0-3 for N Murtagh, Craig O'Connor for B Fitzpatrick, Ben McKenna for D Lambe.

LANNLEIRE: Liam  Callan; Jason Torris, Paul McGeough, Caoimhin Maher; Brendan McEvoy, Briain McGuinnness, Gary Monaghan; Ian Mulroy, Pierce Hawkins; Mark Dunne, Niall Lennon, Killian Gregory 1-2; Paul Callan 0-2, Bob Murphy 0-2, Colin Murphy 0-5. Subs: Alan Murphy 0-1 for N Lennon; Laurence McEntee for G Monaghan; Paul Doyle for G Monaghan; Thomas Doyle for C Maher.

The Argus