Wednesday 16 October 2019

Joes are too hot for Glyde

GAA: Paddy Sheelan Cup - St Joseph's 1-14 Glyde Rangers 0-8

The Joes completed the group stages of the Sheelan Cup, leading from start to finish, to collect a second win at home to Glyde Rangers on Thursday night.

Points from Daire Smyth and Craig Doherty had the Joes two up inside the first five minutes and the Joes continued to hit the target with three points from Shane McQuillan, Jack Mulligan and Alan Lynch.

Glyde opened the scoring with a Trevor O'Brien 25m free but Alan McKenna led the Joes attack adding two points and setting up Daire Smyth to score and the Joes were ahead 0-8 to 0-1 after 17 minutes.

The Tallanstown side were more competitive in the second quarter and the next four points were shared before Trevor O'Brien again pointed for Glyde, but the Joes responded with a superb long-range strike from Conor Neary, leaving the Joes leading by 0- 11 to 0-4 at the break.

Glyde took the game to the Joes in the early stages of the second half and two Trevor O'Brien frees narrowed the gap to five. A breaking ball in the Joes goalmouth was kept out by Seamus Quigley and the Joes finally hit the target on 42 minutes with a Jack Mulligan point.

A strong attack led by Killian Staunton was finished by Craig Doherty for a Joes point. Any chance of a recovery by the visitors ended on 48 minutes when Jack Mulligan, Craig Doherty and Daire Smyth combined to set Alan McKenna free and he hit the net for the Joes.

It was a 13m free at the opposite end from Alan McKenna that closed out the Joes' scoring before Glyde kicked the final two points of the night.

ST JOSEPHS: Seamus Quigley; Aidan Kieran, Philip Brennan, Stefan Potts; Cian McGuinness, Alan Lynch (0-1), David Kieran; Conor Neary (0-1), Killian Staunton; Jack Mulligan (0-3), Alan McKenna (1-4), Shane McQuillan (0-1); Daire Smyth (0-2), Craig Doherty (0-2), Ian McDonald. Subs: Daire McKiernan, Oisin McGuinness, Jack Barron.

GLYDE RANGERS: David Brennan; Gerard Farrell, Conor McCullough, Jason Dullaghan; Niall Sharkey (0-1), Cein Sheridan, Peter Duffy; Alan Brennan, Dion Conlon (0-1); Dylan Kearney, Conor Sheridan, Stephen Sharkey; Trevor O'Brien (0-6), Barry Brennan, Fiachra Sheridan.

The Argus