Sunday 21 January 2018

Hunterstown lay down a marker with big Barr's victory

HUNTERSTOWN Rovers got their Junior Championship campaign of to the perfect start after an emphatic win over Naomh Fionnbarra in Ardee.

The hot conditions were tough on both sets of players but the men from Hunterstown were dominant from first whistle to last as they recorded a comfortable victory. The victory only reinforces the believe held by some that Hunterstown are the team to beat this season.

Although Finbarr's missed a few easy scores the game was slipping away from them before the end of the first half. Try as they might, the Finbarrs full back line had no answer for the Hunterstown attack who constantly caused them problems throughout the match.

The lacklustre start to the match by Naomh Fionnbarra came to an end when they recorded their first score of the match after 17 minutes. Things did not get much better as the half progressed and Hunterstown had a comfortable five point lead at the break, 0-7 to 0-2.

The men from Togher came back on to the pitch for the second half but the half time team talk had no visible impact on them. Once again the Hunterstown forward line turned possession into scores when Paul Carrie and Ryan Burns added more points on the board.

In the closing stages of the match Hunterstown had visibly turned the intensity down and Naomh Fionnbarra grabbed a goal from Fergal Leonard. However, any hopes of a remarkable comeback were quickly dashed as Hunterstown went up the pitch and clinically tagged on another three points.

With the game dying out the Finbarr's managed to grab another goal but the game had long finished as a contest.

Hunterstown Rovers: Alan Fedigan; Ciaran Carrie, Richie Taaffe, Patrick Matthews; Brian Matthews, David Fin 0-1, Daniel McKenna; Paddy Mooney, Conor Matthews; Alan Landy 0-2, Keith Brennan, Brendan Lennon 0-3; Ryan Burns 0-4, Paul Carrie 0-4, David Fedigan. Subs: Martin Lennon for Daniel McKenna.

Noamh Fionnbarra: AIan Matthews; Conor Lenihan, Ciaran Lenihan, Brian Sharkey; Nicholas Butterly, Ciaran Murphy, Padraig Butterly; John Doyle, Mark Butterly; Conor Osborne, Andy McCann, Darren McCarran; Fergal Leonard 1-0, William Woods 1-3, Ryan Woods. Subs: Martin Murphy for Nicholas Butterly, Oisin McGee for Ciaran Murphy, Gary Matthews for Fergal Leonard, Martin O'Neill for Ryan Woods.

The Argus

Promoted Links

Promoted Links