Saturday 16 December 2017

'Hill produce best display so far to sink St Kevin's

DOWDALLSHILL saved their best performance of the season for the opening match of the 2013 Junior Championship.

At a sun soaked Ardee, Darren Kirwan's side cast aside an indifferent run of league form, for a win that puts them in a strong position to make the knockout stages.

Throughout the first half Dowdallshill were on the front foot and their early dominance was helped by slow start from St Kevin's. The opening goal arrived when Donal Sheridan made the most of a handling error by the Kevin's keeper, Paul Brennan, to knock the ball into the net from close range.

The Dowdallshill side saw their grip on the game tighten when their second goal of the half arrived after a speculative 20 metre effort from Noel Finnegan dropped over the keeper's head and in.

That second goal established a six point lead for the 'Hill, but the Kevins managed to reduce the arrears by half time, and only trailed by four points, 2-5 to 0-7.

St Kevin's really upped their level of intensity in the second half and the game became a more even contest with the score pegged back on three occasion.

The game remained in the melting pot as the half went on but significantly the Kevin's could not get that leading score.

In the closing stages, Dowdallshill made the most of their possession and Donal Sheridan landed the lead score. The game finally slipped away from St Kevin's when they were reduced to 14 men after Alan Gregory was sent-off. Noel Finnegan of Dowdallshill sent over the resulting free to secure the victory.

Dowdallshill: David Clegg, Vincent Roe, Gary Corrigan, Eamon Duffy, Anton Rogers, Justin Halley, Cathal Mc Shane, David Mc Crave, Ciaran O'Callaghan, Ciaran Sheridan 0-2, Gerry Mc Shane 0-1, Donal Sheridan 1-2, Colin Agnew, Paul Gill 0-3, Noel Finnegan 1-3. Subs used: Paddy Quinn for Colin Agnew, Anthony Quinn for Anton Rogers.

St Kevin's: Paul Brennan; Mark McGahon, Ian Wogan, Patrick Duff; Andrew Hynes, Alan Gregory, James Boylan; Gareth Boylan, Sean Crosby 0-7; Liam Boylan 0-2, Sean Callen, Michael Grogan 0-1; Conor McCullough, Matthew Boylan, Aidan Craven 1-1. Subs: Jeffery Meehan for Sean Callen, David Smith for Matthew Boylan, Emmett Callen for James Boylan.

Referee: Donal Brady.

The Argus

Promoted Links

Promoted Links