Sunday 22 September 2019

Gaels keep their promotion hopes alive

Division 1/2 semi-final - Dundalk Gaels 2-18, O'Connells 1-10

Dundalk Gaels kept their promotion hopes alive with an 11-point victory over the O'Connells at The Grove on Saturday night.

Niall Hearty and David McComish put the visitors ahead two points in the first three minutes and then the home side were down to 14 when Cian Doyle was shown a straight red card for some verbals he had with referee David McArdle.

McComish and Ger McSorley added to their score before Niall Conlon got the home team off the mark with a point from a free. McComish got his fourth point of the game but the Bellingham side got the next two points from Andrew Sharkey and Robert Quigley to leave the score 0-5 to 0-3.

Sean McCann put the Gaels further ahead when shot to the net after good work by Derek Crilly, while the sides shared the next four points to leave the score 1-7 to 0-5. The men from the Ramparts were well in charge and added another three answered points from McCann, McComish and Sean Murray before Conlon got the last point of the half to leave the score at the break 1-10 to 0-6.

The second half continued the way of the first and points from Crilly and McCann increased the lead. Conlon got one back for the home side but another point from McCann was followed by a goal from Oisin Murray that practically finished the contest.

Three more points from the visitors added to their tally and Conlon got his fifth and sixth points of the game for O'Connells. Sean Cairns got a consolation goal for the home team but the Gaels ran out easy winners and will now face St. Mochtas to see who will play in the division one league next season.

DUNDALK GAELS: Joe O'Donoghue; James Lynch, Jamie Faulkner, Mark Hanna; Oisin Murray 1-0, Sean Murray 0-3, Adrian Rafferty 0-1; David Maloney 0-1, Derek Crilly 0-1; Niall Hearty 0-1, David McComish 0-6, Paul McCrave; Eanna McArdle 0-2, Sean McCann 1-2, Gerard McSorley 0-1. Subs: Eamonn Kenny for J Lynch, Jason Clarke for G McSorley, Luke Murray for E McArdle, Errol Boyle for S McCann, John O'Hare for N Hearty.

O'CONNELLS: Stuart Reynolds; Jason Carroll, Conor Byrne, Gary Connolly; Emmet Byrne, Stuart Osborne, Keith Ryan; Ciaran O'Brien, Sean Cairns 1-0; Robert Quigley 0-3, Andrew Sharkey 0-1, Dean Stanfield; Niall Conlon 0-6, Conor Culligan, Cian Doyle. Subs: David Hoey for G Connolly; Paul McKeever for A Sharkey, Conor McGill for P McKeever.

The Argus