Thursday 13 December 2018

Five-star Louth seal Leinster final berth

GAA TG4 Leinster JFC - Louth 5-31 Kilkenny 0-5

Dermot Woods

Louth sealed a Leinster final meeting with Carlow following this convincing victory over Kilkenny in Philipstown on Sunday afternoon.

When the counties met in the League back in January there was a similar outcome, with Louth coming out on top 7-24 to 1-1 on that day, a winning margin of 41 points on both occasions.

Captain Kate Flood top-scored for the Reds, while Lauren Boyle was also in good scoring form, hitting 1-7, as Kilkenny were held scoreless until two minutes into the second half.

It was a fine team performance from Louth as they bounced back from their below par performance in losing to Wicklow in the recent League final as they booked their place in the provincial decider with a match to spare. They travel to Carlow next weekend in the final group match before again facing the Barrowsiders in the final in early July in Dr.Cullen Park.

Having taken to the field without their manager Michéal McKeown, who was taken to hospital on Sunday morning having taken ill, the Wee County raced out of the blocks and were ahead inside 30 seconds as Kate Flood was on target.

Further points from Boyle (2), Aoife Russell, Catherine McGlew and Flood extended the Louth lead to 0-5 to 0-0 before the the game's first goal came as Kate Flood converted a penalty after she was dragged down by a couple of defenders. Louth continued to dominate and the scores came thick and fast, with their second goal coming on the stroke of half-time as team captain Flood's shot nestled in the corner of the net.

The second half continued in the similar fashion, with Louth scoring almost at will with their superior fitness levels and greater experience ensuring an easy win for the home side.

Louth: Una Pearson; Éilís Hand, Rachel Kane, Shannen McLaughlin (0-1); Michelle McArdle (0-1), Ceire Nolan, Shauna Markey; Sinéad Woods (1-1), Róisín Kavanagh; Aoife Russell (0-7), Kate Flood (2-7), Aine Breen (1-2); Lauren Boyle (1-7), Leanne Sharkey, Catherine McGlew (0-5). Subs, Orla McGeeney, Coirin Rice, Alanna Conlon

Kilkenny: Niamh Sheehy; Ailbhe Galway, Ailish O'Neill, Lynn Beirne; Sarah Smith, Rebecca Brennan, Tina Wright; Caoilfhionn Úi Horgan (0-1), Ailish O'Shea (0-3); Jenny Reddy, Aoife Naddy (0-1), Niamh Ward; Aoife Dunne, Denise Love, Mary Beamish.

The Argus