Saturday 20 January 2018

Five-star Bush carve out a piece of history

The Bush PP squad celebrate their O’Moore Cup victory on Friday.
The Bush PP squad celebrate their O’Moore Cup victory on Friday.

BUSH Post Primary made a bit of history in Darver last week as the school's under-14s clinched the O'Moore Cup for the first time.

In a high-scoring clash De La Salle made the early moves and raced into a quick two point lead with a very strong breeze at their backs.

Bush gradually picked themselves up and and won a lot of ball around the middle through Rory Duffy and Cathal Grogan but failed to take advantage of the possession and kicked a number of poor wides.

The nerves were eventually settled by a point from Joe Quinn, but as both teamssettled into the game De La Salle pushed on with two more pointed frees to open a three-point lead.

Again, though, Bush hit back with a finely worked goal finished off by Conor Kenny. As the Bush team got into the groove they displayed some excellent passages of play with a lot of fine movement and passing, however, De La Salle pushed on again and kicked two more well-worked points, one a fine score from the 45 by Danny O'Brien.

With three minutes left to half time De La Salle held a slender 0-6 to 1-1 lead, but two goals in as many minutes for the Bush turned the game on its head as Rory Duffy and Conor Kenny gave them a four-point lead at the break. As was the case in the first half De La Salle started the second half the brighter and reduced the deficit almost immediately to three points. However the Bush turned the screw by scoring two points in quick succession, both from midfielder Cathal Grogan off either foot.

This extended Bush'sto five points and gave them the momentum to push on. Two fine goals in the space of five minutes from man of the match Michael Carron, the second of which was a superb solo effort as he slalomed his way through the De La Salle defence and dispatched the ball coolly past the keeper. With 11 points between the sides the game was all but over as a contest, but the De La Salle did not give up and replied with two well deserved goals.

However, it was never going to be enough to deny Bush, who held on to win their first ever O'Moore Cup.

Best for the Bush were Christopher McGuinness, Rory Duffy, Emmet Hughes, Conor Kenny and Man-of-the-Match Michael Carron.

BUSH PP: Stephen Gartland; Daniel Hanlon, Cathal Quinn, Jason Woods; Dean McGreehan, Michael Carron, Christopher McGuinness ; Rory Duffy, Cathal Grogan; Adam Traynor, Emmet Hughes, James O'Reilly; Joseph Quinn, Conor Kenny, Jack Murphy. Subs: Alex Woods, Eoin McDaid, Seamus McCabe, Micheal McCabe, Calum Fearon, Feargal Malone, Ronan Sheelan, Stephen Kelly, Emmanuel Keenan, Leonard Grey, Martin Heinz, Sean McGrane, Ciaran Finnegan, Brian Quinn, Shane Duffy, Lee McDonell, Ben McGirr, Darren Jordan, Stephen McGovern.

The Argus

Promoted Links

Promoted Links