Saturday 20 January 2018

Fechin's see off Bride's to avoid play-off

IN this the final match of the league it was a must win for the home side to be certain of staying in the Intermediate League for next season.

The Brides had already secured a top four spot but nevertheless they took this match to the Fechins and the Termonfeckin side only managed to pull away in the final quarter and hold on to a three point margin.

There was a hectic start to this game with Conaill Devin pointing for Brides in the first minute quickly followed by an opening for Fechins with a penalty from Ronan Holcroft who added another point a minute later.

This however was all cancelled out when the Fechins keeper was deceived by a high ball and could only parry it in to the path of the incoming Ross Kehoe who palmed it to the net to level up the score on ten minutes.

Brian Devlin and Devine exchanged points with Fechins opening up a three point lead only to be hauled back with two from Brides. Holcroft added a late point to send Fechins in at the break leading by 1-6 to 1-4.

Fechins added a point but then Brides had three unanswered points from Kevin Hearty (2) and Kevin Kirk to level the match at 1-7 apiece on 45 minutes. Fechins responded with points from Niall Devlin and Holcroft (3) one from a free some 60 yards out. Brides came again with two late Pat Reilly points but Fechins had the last say from Brian Devlin in injury time to run out deserving winners in this keenly contested game.

ST FECHINS: Darren O'Neill, Harry McArdle, Brendan Fanning, Fergal McNally; Conor Haughney, David Collier, Sean McConnell; John McGlew, Donal Ryan 0-1; Ronan Holcroft 1-7, Colm O'Neill, Brian Devlin 0-2; Niall Devlin 0-2, James Devereaux, Paul King. Sub: Jamie King for P King.

ST BRIDES: Aaron Hoey; Cillian Kirk, David Kettle, Paul Prendergast; Niall Mackin, Paddy Reilly 0-2 , Gerard McKeown; David Dunne, Shane Kerrigan; Kevin Kirk 0-2, Ray Kelly, Emmet Kirk; Ross Kehoe 1-0, Kevin Hearty 0-2, Conaill Devin 0-3. Subs: James Costello for Keho, Richard Halpenny for Devin, Ciaran Dunne for Cillian Kirk, Paul Halpenny for McKeown.

The Argus

Promoted Links

Promoted Links