Monday 22 July 2019

Dominant Mairtins ease into final four

Division 1 Football League: Naomh Mairtin 1-20 St Marys 0-12

Naomh Mairtin booked a place in the league semi-final thanks to this 11-point victory over St Marys in Monasterboice on Saturday evening.

The winners turned in an impressive team performance to get the better of a visiting side who were knocked off the top of the table as a result of the defeat. However, despite suffering their first reverse of the campaign, the Marys are also certain to contest to finish in the top four.

As expected, there was little between the teams in the early stages with Jonathan Cummins opening the scoring for the Ardee side but this was cancelled out by a Conor Whelan effort.

Ronan Carroll and Sam Mulroy then traded a brace apiece but the Mairtins were beginning to get on top and Mulroy scored the only goal of the game on ten minutes to see his team lead by 1-4 to 0-3.

The Ardee men battled to stay in touch with scores from Liam Jackson and Conor Gillespie but points from JP Rooney and Padraig McDonagh extended the gap to 1-12 to 0-7 at the break.

The second half saw the visitors find a way back into the game but they were held at arm's length by a determined Martins side who sealed the victory with scores from Wayne Campbell and Whelan while Mulroy took his tally to an impressive 1-8.

NAOMH MAIRTIN: Craig Lynch; Paul Berrill, Mick Fanning, Shane Campbell; Padraig McDonagh 0-1, Eoghan Callaghan 0-1, Conor Healy; Gavin Mooney, Wayne Campbell 0-1; Conor Whelan 0-6, Conor Morgan 0-1, John Clutterbuck; Sam Mulroy 1-8, JP Rooney 0-1, Brian McQuillan. Subs: Eoin Wright, Graeme McQuillan, Adam Winters, Val Leddy 0-1, Joe McGrane, Jack McCarville.

ST MARYS: Duane Crosby; Philip Trainor, Donal McKenny, Conor Keenan; Brendan Matthews, Karl Faulkner, Eimhin Keenan; Robert Leavy, Liam Jackson 0-1; Jamie Rooney, Conor Gillespie 0-2, Paudy Clarke; Cian Cummins, Ronan Carroll 0-3, Jonathan Cummins 0-4. Subs: Kian Moran for B Matthews, Ciaran Keenan for C Cummins, Mark Fay 0-2 for J Rooney, Niall Eccles for E Keenan, Barry McCoy for R Carroll, Tom Jackson for P Clarke.

The Argus