Wednesday 17 January 2018

DkIT bridge 17-year gap to book semi-final spot

DKIT GAA Club clinched a place at the Sigerson Cup finals weekend for the first time since 1997 by defeating Marino Institute of Education in the quarter-final of the Trench Cup competition last week.

The local college will hit Belfast this weekend to take part in the third level GAA extravanganza, host by Queens University.

The quarter-final clash was played last Wednesday in DkIT, but very nearly fell foul of the weather as a layer of snow blanketed the pitch and created poor visibility.

However after a pitch inspection, the game got the green light and DkIT hit the ground running with a Robbie Quigley point on eight minutes.

Cian Doyle addeed two more for Oisin McConville's side, but with a very strong with at their backs DkIT were failing to capatilise on some gilt-edged chances.

Marino slowly crept into the game and after 20 minutes would have been delighted to be trailing by just two points, 0-5 to 0-3.

However, DkIT upped the tempo before the break and a Quigley goal helped them to a 1-8 to 0-3 half-time lead.

Marino started the second half very strongly and scored a brace of points without reply, but DkIT kept their nose in front with scores from St Joseph's duo Mark Neary and substitute Alan Quigley.

There was an exciting finish in store as Marino blasted home their only goal in the 50th minute to leave two points between the teams but DkIT held firm to come out on top by 1-13 to 1-11.

St Patrick's Drumcondra now lie in wait in Belfast on Friday (12.30pm) and they will be hot favourites with star names like Roscommon's Senan Kilbride and Dublin aces Ciaran Kilkenny and Cormac Costello in their ranks.

DKIT: Shane Davis (Skerries Harps, Dublin); Peter Lynch (Stabannon), Ciaran Murray (Dundalk Young Irelands), Fergal Malone (Castleblayney, Monaghan); Conor Finnegan (Sean O Mahonys), Niall McGovern (Na Fianna, Dublin), Colm Smith (Kingscourt, Cavan); Mark Neary 0-2 (St Josephs), Eoin Coyle (Latton, Monaghan); Jason Hand (Corduff, Monaghan), Keith McLoughlin (Sean O Mahonys), James Heeney (Warrenpoint, Down); Cian Doyle 0-3 (O'Connells), Paul Grant 0-3 (Scotstown, Monaghan), Robbie Quigley 1-3 (O'Connells). Subs used: Alan Quigley 0-2 ( St Joeseph's), Damien Whelan (Kilanerin/Ballyfad, Wexford).

The Argus

Promoted Links

Promoted Links