Friday 19 January 2018

Deadly Dreads remain unbeaten



DREADNOTS remain unbeaten in Group C thanks to an emphatic victory over the Sean O'Mahonys in Clogherhead on Sunday morning.

The home side got off to a flyer as James Califf and Pat Lynch points helped them race into a six point lead after eight minutes. The O'Mahonys were badly in need of a score and it duly arrived four minutes later when Stephen Kilcoyne side footed the ball past Ciaran Cunningham for the game's opening goal.

That goal ought to have sparked the Dundalk side into life but instead it was the men from Clogher who finished the half the stronger as they extended their lead thanks to a second James Califf free and a well struck point from Conor Campbell. David Dowling ended the first half action with a long range point to leave the scoreboard reading 0-8 to 1-1 at half-time.

The second half started in a similar fashion to the first as again the Dreadnots raced out of the blocks as they tried to put this game beyond the O'Mahonys reach. Within five minutes of the restart Kevin Brennan was picking the ball out of his net as Peter Kirwan scored a great goal for the Dreadnots.

James Califf and Conor Campbell both scored their fourth points of the day midway through the second half as the Dreadnots extended their lead to an unassailable 14 points.

The cherry on the cake of an impressive performance was provided by substitute Anthony Lynch who blasted home from close range to complete a satisfying win.

DREADNOTS: Ciaran Cunningham; Brian Gargan, Derek Shevlin, John Kirk; Luke Judge, Anthony Williams 0-1, Fergal McGuigan; Padraig Smyth 0-1, James Califf 0-4; Barry Faulkner 0-1, Peter Kirwan 1-0, David O'Brien; Pat Lynch 0-2, Ronan Califf 0-1, Conor Campbell 0-4. Subs: Ryan Gargan for J Kirk, Dara Shevlin for P Smyth, Richard Kirwan 0-1 for B Faulkner, Anthony Lynch 1-1 for P Lynch, Conor Murphy for R Califf.

SEAN O'MAHONYS: Kevin Brennan; Kevin Quinn, Pat O'Brien, Liam Dullaghan; Owen Hanratty, Peter Nixon, Conor Finnegan; Conor Crawley, Shane Brennan; Jonathan Connolly, David Crawley, Niall McLoughlin; David Dowling 0-1, Conor Martin, Stephen Kilcoyne 1-2. Sub: Liam McKinney for C Crawley.


TEENAGE supersub Josh Arrowsmith's late goal proved decisive as the Gers moved up to second place in Group C.

The Gers were looking to bounce back from last weeks defeat against the O'Mahonys and they started in determined fashion as midfielder Michael Rogers opened the scoring with a long range point early on.

The Geraldines midfield of Michael Rogers and Stephen Reidy were beginning to dominate towards the end of the half and they pulled further clear thanks to scores from Paul Molloy, Johnny Breen and a wonderful effort from teenager Dara Hamill. Niall Franklin had the last say of the first half as his long range point gave Na Piarsaigh a much needed point to leave the half time score 0-7 to 0-3 in the Gers favour.

Na Piarsaigh fell further behind early in the second half as the Gers threatened to run away with the game.

Na Piarsaigh weren't done with yet however and they started their comeback with an excellent David Boyle goal to leave four points between the teams once more.

Just as the Dundalk side were threatening to reel in the Gers lead on came substitute Josh Arrowsmith to dash their hopes with a goal that saw them seven clear.

Barry Hamilton's third point of the afternoon sealed victory for the home side and despite a late wobble when they allowed Michael Woods to slip in for a late goal and a point the Gers held on to move up to second in Group C.

GERALDINES: Nataniel Cooney; Ryan Murphy, Nicky Mackin, Tiarnan Hand; Conall Hoey, Benny Connolly, Paul Clarke; Michael Rogers 0-3, Stephen Reidy 0-1; Owen Brayden, Johnny Breen 0-1, Paul Molloy 0-1; Dara Hamill 0-2, Barry Hamilton 0-3, John Rogers 0-1. Subs: Josh Arrowsmith 1-0, Paidi Gallagher, Dabheoc Coleman, Micky McKevitt, Cathal O'Brien.

NA PIARSAIGH: Donal Greene; Eamon McAuley0-1, Ronan McCartney, Stephen McGuinness; John Galligan, Conal Shields, Damien McGeeney; John Garvey, Michael Woods1-2; Joe Woods, David Boyle1-2, Aaron Mulligan; Stephen Maguire, Paul O'Hare, Niall Franklin0-1. Subs: Damien McCrink, James McCartney, Alan McAuley, Aidan Marks.

The Argus

Promoted Links

Promoted Links