Monday 16 September 2019

Casting a cold eye on Brexit

The programme for the eighth annual Thomas D'Arcy McGee Summer School which takes place from August in 20th to 21st Carlingford Heritage Centre has been announced by Dundalk Institute of Technology.

The theme for this year's event is 'Brexit - Back to the Future' which brings together a panel of world-class experts to reflect on the instability evident in the lives of politicians, businessmen, academics and the wider communities - north and south, east and west.

Historical perspectives will be explored by leading historian and Sunday Independent columnist, Dr. Ruth Dudley Edwards and Prof David Wilson of the Celtic Studies Programme and History Department at the University of Toronto.

Dr Tim O'Connor, a distinguished Irish diplomat, and the first Joint Secretary of the North South Ministerial Council will discuss pragmatic paradigms for mutually beneficial cooperation and he will be joined by other experienced leaders of cross border cooperation.

Political commentator, Eamon Mallie, will chair the ever popular, Politicians' Forum which will include a lively round up of views from leading politicians from across the island of Ireland such as Claire Sugden, Independent Unionist, East Londonderry, Former Minister for Justice and Bríd Rogers, Former Northern Ireland Executive Minister and founder member of the SDLP . Other special guests include Mark O'Neill, CEO, Canadian Museum of History, Ottawa, and Robert Kearns, Chairman and Founder, IrelandPark Foundation, Toronto.

The Thomas D'Arcy McGee Summer School also includes a vibrant cultural programme, headlined this year by fiddle maestro and Dundalk-native Gerry O'Connor who will be accompanied by fellow Dundalk flute player, Nuala Kennedy.

Cross border musical harmonies will be provided by the Altnaveigh and Carlingford pipe bands in a spectacular open air display at the Thomas D'Arcy McGee Exhibition Centre, to celebrate the bestowing of the Irish Canadian Person of the Year award to Pat O'Callaghan. The award's first recipient was General John de Chastelain in 2018, and this year's award and citation will be delivered by Ray Bassett, former Irish Ambassador to Canada.

To find out more about the programme or to enquire about ticket sales, please contact Programme Coordinator, Tommy Fegan, or visit

The Argus