Tuesday 20 February 2018

Kavanagh poetry award entries sought

THE Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award for a first unpublished collection of poems in English is open to poets, born in the island of Ireland, or of Irish nationality, or long term resident in Ireland.

The award is now in its 43rd year. Previous winners include Eileán Ni Chuilleanáin, Paul Durcan, Thomas McCarthy, Peter Sirr, Sinead Morrissey, Conor O'Callaghan, Celia de Freine and Joseph Woods.

The winner of this year's award will receive €1,000. Closing date for entries has been extended to Monday August 4 and the award will be presented on Friday September 26 at the opening of the annual Patrick Kavanagh Weekend in Inniskeen.

Rules and entry form from the Patrick Kavanagh Centre, Inniskeen at 042 9378560 or email or www.patrickkavanagh

The Argus

Promoted Links

Promoted Links