Saturday 16 December 2017

Take flight at Eagle's five-mile

One of the oldest club races in Cork, the Carrigaline five-mile promoted by Eagle AC, takes place for the 26th time on Sunday, starting at 11am

Ursula Smith, Cora Regan and Patricia Murray pictured at the Mealagh Valley Ring 10-mile and 5km.
Ursula Smith, Cora Regan and Patricia Murray pictured at the Mealagh Valley Ring 10-mile and 5km.
Regina Casey winning the women's race at the Maree 8k

John Walshe

The race is now known as the Tommy Ryan Memorial event in memory of one of the club's best-loved athletes who passed away in 1997. The entry fee is just €10 and the organising club is taking pre-registrations for people who wish to avoid the queues on the day. A donation of €2 from each entry goes to two local charities, Carrigaline Meals-on-Wheels and Carrigaline Fóroige Club.

Race HQ is at the local community sports hall and the race is sponsored by The Edge Sports Shop, which will be giving out discount vouchers to all runners on the day. Sean McGrath of East Cork won last year's race in 25.52 for an unprecedented sixth year in a row. Sinead Paley (31.03) made it a one-two for the promoting club. Full details are available at


Bantry native Alan O'Shea made it three victories in five years at the Mealagh Valley Ring 10-miler which took place over a tough circuit around this scenic area of west Cork, writes John Walshe.

O'Shea's time of 54.12, and winning margin of more than six minutes, reflected the demanding nature of the course and also puts his record of 52 minutes flat from the original event in 2010 into perspective. The former Cork City Marathon winner led all the way, facing a strong wind on the homeward leg of the lap around the undulating valley.

Con Marshall of St Finbarr's, making his first appearance in the race, took second in 60.19, with Tom Laffan, Bandon, third in 63.05 and Liam Tracey of newly formed Watergrasshill AC fourth in 63.33.

Maura Regan of Eagle, the winner two years ago, was the winner of the women's race in a time of 74.46. Her time put her well clear of Deirdre Harrington from nearby Durrus, representing the West Muskerry club, who posted 76.00 with Col Conway third in 77.22.

Organised by Bantry AC, all the proceeds from both the 10-mile and associated 5k fun-run went to the Mealagh Valley Community and Build4Life Cystic Fibrosis charity.


Tim O'Donoghue followed up his 10-mile PB in Dungarvan two weeks ago with a clear victory at the Janssen four-mile race at Little Island, held under Cork BHAA rules.

O'Donoghue, who was representing EMC, led home more than 400 runners to win in 20.08. This gave him a 28-second margin over John Meade who had won the FMC race over the same course three weeks before in 20.57. Michael Harty, second on that occasion in 20.59, had to settle for third this time.

There was an impressive performance by former Irish 1,500m champion Orla Drumm who won the women's race in 22.55. Carmel Crowley again showed her consistency in finishing second in 23.56, with Niamh Walsh taking third in 25.06.


Improved weather conditions saw more than 320 runners turn out for the fifth edition of the Maree 8k, which took place in association with Amphibian King, near Oranmore in Co Galway.

Matt Bidwell of GCH returned to take the title for a fourth consecutive year, recording a time of 26.46. Mick Fogarty of Athlone Tri Club was second in 27.14, with Rory Moloney, representing West Waterford, third in 27.20 and another Galway City Harrier, Conor Dolan, fourth in 27.35.

Regina Casey (GCH), below, won the women's race in 30.15 with Ann Lennon second in 30.56 and her Mayo clubmate Colette Tuohy third in 31.03.

Next Sunday sees another 8k taking place in the West when South Galway AC stages its event in Gort. Starting at 1.30pm, entry is €20 either online or on the day. For further information contact Keith Horan on 087 7769711 or via email at southgalwayac@

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Promoted Links

Top Stories

Most Read

Independent Gallery

Your photos

Send us your weather photos promo

Celebrity News