Saturday 24 February 2018

Fitzpatrick weathers storm to take win

The leaders brave the elements in the John Treacy Dungarvan 10-mile race. Photo: Garry Lee
The leaders brave the elements in the John Treacy Dungarvan 10-mile race. Photo: Garry Lee

In his first serious race at the distance, Tom Fitzpatrick, of Tallaght AC, overcame the adverse weather conditions and a strong field to win the annual John Treacy/Dungarvan 10-miler, which had a total of almost 1,600 finishers.

With hailstones and a strong wind to contend with for the opening two miles, the early pace was on the slow side and a sub-50 minute time didn't seem on the cards as the leading group of six passed through halfway in around 25:20.

However, as the wind eased, Fitzpatrick, along with Tallaght team-mate Sean Connolly and Dublin Marathon winner Sean Hehir, pushed the pace with the 32-year-old Fitzpatrick finally breaking away with just over two miles to go to finish in a time of 49:48, with course record-holder Hehir just 11 seconds behind.

One of the most impressive runs of the day came from James McCarthy of East Cork who moved up from seventh at halfway to take third in a personal best of 50:23, four seconds ahead of Connolly and also in front of the likes of Sergiu Ciobanu and Gary Murray.

There was drama in the women's race as course record-holder Maria McCambridge had to drop out around the three-mile mark leaving the way clear for 2010 and 2011 winner Siobhan O'Doherty of Borrisokane AC to take the honours once again, posting a good time of 56:53. Gladys Ganiel from North Belfast finished second in 57:27 with Jill Hodgins from Cork having a fine run to take third in 58:36.

John Treacy, the man in whose honour the race is held, was happy to run around in a time of 83:47 in the company of Leo Varadkar, Minister for Transport, Tourism & Sport.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Promoted Links

Top Stories

Most Read

Independent Gallery

Your photos

Send us your weather photos promo

Celebrity News