Tuesday 23 July 2019

INM journalists and writers win French Travel Media awards

And the prize goes to...

Always popular: Paris
Always popular: Paris
Conor Power, travel writer and contributor to the Irish Independent and Sunday Independent, at the inaugural French Travel Media Awards this week.
Pol Ó Conghaile with Gonzalo Ceballos, Natalia Bel, Maria Navais (Spanish Tourist Office) and Martin Skelly (President, Irish Travel Agents Assoc) at the 2016 Travel Extra Travel Journalist of the Year Awards. Photo: Gary Ashe.

Online Editors

Three INM travel writers received awards for their work at the inaugural French Travel Media Awards, held this week.

Pól Ó Conghaile, INM's Contributing Editor (Travel) picked up a special 'Paris Award' for his piece on the #ParisWeLoveYou campaign for Independent.ie.

The Sunday World's Jim Gallagher won 'Best City Break Feature in France', while freelance contributor Conor Power also received an award for 'Best Gastronomy and Wine Feature in France' at the ceremony.

Hosted by Atout France, the awards were announced at an event attended by 13 representatives from a number of regions in France, the cream of the Irish travel media and French Ambassador in Ireland, H.E. Jean-Pierre Thébault.

The French Ambassador welcomed media to the event and thanked them for their continued support of France, and in particular Paris, during 2015.

Other winners included Catherine Murphy and Kevin Gleeson for features in the Sunday Business Post and Irish Mail on Sunday respectively.

The wins follow another successful haul for INM journalists at the annual Travel Extra Travel Journalist of the Year Awards, held this January.

Pól Ó Conghaile and Conor Power were category winners, while Jamie Blake Knox of the Sunday Independent won 'Best Newcomer/young Journalist'.

The overall Travel Journalist of the Year Award was won by Isabel Conway, for her work in a range of publications, including The Irish Independent.

Online Editors

Editors Choice

Also in Life