Wednesday 26 June 2019

Poignant and warm-hearted novel about friendship

Fiction: Rules of the Road

Ciara Geraghty

HarperCollins €13.99

Rules of the Road
Rules of the Road

Justine Carbery

Ciara Geraghty's latest novel is a warm-hearted, uplifting book that celebrates female friendship, and as such, will appeal to any woman who has ever had a best friend. While it captures a journey, an adventure, the essence of friendship, it also deals with serious societal issues.

It is the story of two women, Terry and Iris, unlikely companions but fast friends.

Terry (late 40s), a shy and retiring law-abiding stay-at-home mum to two daughters who have now left home, finds herself drawn to the dynamic, outspoken Iris (58) when she meets her at an Alzheimer's Society meeting.

Iris sees something special in Terry, who cares for her father who is suffering from dementia, and they become firm friends.

But Iris is hiding something from Terry.

She has MS and plans to travel to Switzerland to end her life. When Terry finds out, she is devastated.

She drives to the port, with her dad in tow, not knowing exactly what she is going to do.

The only thing driving her is a burning desire to stop Iris from carrying out her plan. And so the adventure begins.

Down through England they drive, across to France and over the border into Switzerland on a crazy road trip filled with many funny and moving moments.

And unexpectedly, somehow, what should be the worst six days of Terry's life turn into the best.

For fans of Eleanor Oliphant and A Man Called Ove, Rules of The Road is a life-affirming book that anyone with a best friend should read.

It is written in easy, accessible prose, and is infused with warmth, humour and human understanding. An homage to life and fantastic friendships, this book will warm the cockles of your heart.

Sunday Indo Living

Editors Choice

Also in Life