Tuesday 24 October 2017

World Car of the Year finalists are announced

VW Passat saloon
VW Passat saloon
The new Mazda 2
Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Emile Laurac

The finalists for the World Car of the Year have just been announced.

The winners will be revealed at the New York International Auto Show on Thursday, April 2.

A jury of 75 international automotive journalists, including Irish Independent Motoring Editor Eddie Cunningham, selected the finalists in the World Car of the Year, World Luxury Car and World Performance Car categories by means of a secret ballot.

Their votes were based on their experience of cars as part of their professional work. International accounting firm KPMG tabulated the jurors' ballots and announced the finalists.

The 10 finalists (in no particular order) for the 2015 World Car of the Year are: Volkswagen Passat, Mazda2, Mercedes-Benz C-Class, MINI5dr /MINI 4dr, Nissan Qashqai, BMW 2 Series Active Tourer, Citroën C4 Cactus, Jeep Renegade, Ford Mustang, Hyundai Genesis.

The 2015 World Performance Car top 10 finalists are: Audi S1, Audi S3, Audi TT/TTS, Jaguar F-TYPE R Coupe, Lexus RC-F, Mercedes-Benz AMG GT, Bentley Continental GT Speed, BMW M4 Coupe/M3 saloon, Corvette Z06, Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat.

And the World Luxury Car will be chosen from: Lexus NX, Lexus RC, BMW i8, BMW X6, Mercedes-Benz S Coupe, Range Rover Autobiography Black LWB, Cadillac ATS Coupe, Cadillac Escalade/ESV, Kia K900, Lincoln MKC.

Jurors have until the middle of next week to cast their final votes for the ultimate winners in each category.

Irish Independent

Also in Life