| 10.5°C Dublin

How big guns are lined up for World Car of the Year awards


Mercedes S Class Coupe

Mercedes S Class Coupe

Mercedes S Class Coupe

The World Car of the Year for 2015 will be announced at the New York Motor Show next week.

I have already voted for the individual winners in each of the categories.

Here's a quick preview of those in the final shake-down for the prestigious award.

The BMW group is up for three awards in five categories - and that is for the second year in a row.

Citroën's highly popular C4 Cactus has been voted into the top three contenders in the 2015 Design of the Year category.

Citroën won the inaugural 2006 Design award and has been a Top Three finalist in that category an impressive six times.

The Ford Mustang is one of just three finalists for the overall World Car of the Year. It goes on sale here in October.

Jaguar/Land Rover have a model in the final three in two categories: the World Luxury Car (Range Rover Autobiography Black LWB) and 2015 World Performance Car (Jaguar F-Type R Coupe).

The Jaguar F-Type won the 2013 Design award, with the Range Rover Evoque the 2012 Design winner.

Mercedes has a Top Three entrant in all categories: C-Class for World Car of the Year, and the Design award; S-Class Coupe (pictured below) for Luxury Car, AMG GT for Performance Car and S 500 Plug-in Hybrid for Green Car.

Volkswagen has two Top Three finalists: the Passat in the World Car of the Year and the Golf GTE in the World Green Car category.

And Volvo's XC90 makes the final three in the World Car Design of the Year category.

Irish Independent